Boycott Shell Campaign

View objects associated with this organization:
All (57) | Documents (53) | Buttons (3) | Posters (1)

Alternate Names: National Labor Boycott Shell Committee
Duration: January 1986 - early 1990s
Location: Washington, DC, United States

Boycott Shell Campaign was formed to organize a boycott of Shell in the United States because of its involvement in South Africa and Namibia. The Campaign operated out of the offices of the United Mine Workers of America (UMWA). Many organizations endorsed the Campaign, and the National Labor Boycott Shell Committee was comprised of the union endorsers. Some 40 U.S. unions were involved, including the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (AFSCME), AFL-CIO, and Coalition of Black Trade Unionists (CBTU). The National Labor Boycott Shell Committee was co-chaired by Owen Bieber, President of the United Automobile, Aerospace and Agricultural Implement Workers of America (UAW) and Richard Trumka, President of the United Mine Workers of America. The Boycott Shell Campaign was run jointly by the National Labor Boycott Shell Committee and the Free South Africa Movement and coordinated by the UMWA. Other organizations that were involved included the American Committee on Africa, Clergy and Laity Concerned, NAACP, National Organization for Women, National Rainbow Coalition, Southern Christian Leadership Conference, TransAfrica, and Washington Office on Africa. (Source: Ken Zinn, Boycott Shell Campaign documents and "Boston Boycotts Shell", Multinational Monitor, Volume 9, Number 7, November 1988)