To: Members of the Michigan State University Board of Trustees

by Barrie Thorne, Ruth S. Hamilton, Lee June, David Dwyer, Marylee Crofts, David McConnell, Jerome Warfield, Daryl J. Vining, Nath N. Ejelonu, Kenneth W. Harrow, Ernest Moore, Frank Beeman, William Derman, Forrest Carter, Coalition Against Racism and Apartheid on Campus
East Lansing, Michigan, United States
February 20, 1986
Publisher: Coalition Against Racism and Apartheid on Campus
3 pages
Type: Correspondence
Coverage in Africa: South Africa
Coverage outside Africa: United States
Language: English
Letter to members of the Michigan State University (MSU) Board of Trustees: Carole Lick, Barbara Sawyer, Thomas Reed, Patrick J. Wilson, Malcolm G. Dade, Jr. (Chairperson), Lawrence D. Owen, Dean Pridgeon, Kathy Wilbur, and John A. DiBiaggio (MSU President, Ex Officio). The letter objects to the decision of the MSU Foundation that it may continue to own stock in those companies that subscribe to the Sullivan Principles regarding their business in South Africa. The letter notes that, according to its Articles of Incorporation, the MSU Foundation is under the direction of the MSU Board of Trustees, yet the decision not to totally divest runs counter to the policies of Michigan State University and the laws of the State of Michigan. The letter discusses Nobel Peace Prize Winner Bishop Desmond Tutu, apartheid, black workers in South Africa, profits, U.S. firms, NAACP MSU Chapter, the National Pan Hellenic Council, and sanctions.
Used by permission of former members of the Coalition Against Racism and Apartheid on Campus.
Collection: Patricia L. Beeman Southern Africa Liberation Committee collection, Michigan State University Libraries Special Collections