Midwest Coalition for the Liberation of Southern Africa Newsletter

by Midwest Coalition for the Liberation of Southern Africa
Chicago, Illinois, United States
December 1978
8 pages
Contents: REPORTS… • University of Illinois-Champaign-Urbana Campus • Dayton-Cincinnati Committee for African Liberation • Madison Chapter of the National Coalition to Support African Liberation • A Letter to the Midwest Coalition from Carroll College • OTHER CONFERENCES… • Southeast • Northeast • THE NEXT STEERING COMMITTEE MEETING… • WEEK OF ACTIVITIES… • Educational Activities • Materials • Actions • FREE THE BETHAL 18! • MINUTES OF THE NOVEMBER STEERING COMMITTEE… • RESOURCE LIST… • U.S Bank Loans to South Africa -CDE Handbook • A Luta Continua • 1979 South Africa Freedom Calendar • "Divestment and Apartheid" • Southern Africa Media Center • Additional Resources… • MAILING LIST • POLITICAL ORGANIZATIONS • The newsletter discusses an arm band day against apartheid, speaking tours of two Black South Africans, Selby Semela, the South African Student Organization (SASO), Drake Koka, the Black Allied Workers Union, Ian Smith’s visit to the U.S., United Auto Workers Region 4, material aid drives, the Bay Area Southern Africa Coalition, Stop Banking on Apartheid, the Champaign-Urbana Coalition Against Apartheid, Russ Wolff, the Pan Africanist Congress of Azania (PAC), Robben Island, Jeff Mothopeng, the Azanian Peoples Liberation Army (APLA), the Transvaal Teachers Association, Potlakeo Leballo, the Black Consciousness Movement, the Organization of African Unity (OAU), Dramane Ouattara, Dennis Brutus, Curtis Black, the Action Committee on S. Africa and the University of Chicago, Robert B. Saute, Steve Nadal, the Coalition Against Apartheid, the Committee Against Apartheid at Roosevelt University, the Coalition Against Apartheid at Truman College, Stephen Wray, Earlham College, Craig Richmond, Indianapolis South Africa Committee, Curtis Steinmetz, Kevin Dwire, Ball State University, Muncie South Africa Committee, Bloomington South Africa Committee, Michael Broakway, Kalamazoo Committee on Apartheid, Patricia Gossman, Washtenaw County Coalition Against Apartheid, Heidi Gottfried, Kate Rubin, Kalamazoo Students Against Apartheid, Leander Jones, Don Cooney, Sally Taylor, the University of Minnesota, Toni Deschamps, Carlton College, St. Olaf College, Antoinette Clark, Linda Spencer, Afro American Student Union, Tom Breunig, Oberlin College, Toledo Divestment Coalition, Paul Tierney, Kurt Landefeld, Miami University, Michael G. McCullough, Mike Lynn, Cleveland Students Against Apartheid, Ajene Nakanbi, Andy Pollack, the Dayton-Cincinnati  Committee for African Liberation, Ron Lord, MACSA (Madison Area Committee on Southern Africa), Jake Fratkin, Marquette University, Anthony Bradford, the Milwaukee Committee on Southern Africa, African Liberation Support Committee, the Chicago Committee for a Free Africa, the Communist Youth Organization, Workers World Party, Young Socialist Alliance, the Young Workers Liberation League, Jerry Bennet, and the Southern African Liberation Committee (SALC).
Used by permission of former members of the Midwest Coalition for the Liberation of Southern Africa.
Collection: Carole Collins Africa Collection, Michigan State University Libraries Special Collections