by Robert C. Johnson, Association of Concerned Africa Scholars
Some time after May 20, 1979
Publisher: Association of Concerned Africa Scholars
2 pages
Type: Meeting Minutes
Coverage in Africa: Africa
Coverage outside Africa: United States
Language: English
The ACAS business meeting acted on organizational Bylaws and officers. 1. Robert Johnson and/or David Wiley will act as incorporators for the Association and be granted a general power of attorney to obtain incorporation and/or federal/state-local tax exempt status. 2. Amended Bylaws were adopted. 3. The Clerk will prepare a corporate resolution outlining the Constitution of the Association, to be ratified by the Board of Directors in a special meeting. 4. Officers were named to be installed as prescribed by the Bylaws. 5. Members of the Board of Directors were elected. 6. The Membership Committee was abolished. Officers and Board members include James Turner, Immanuel Wallerstein, Ann Seidman, Willard Johnson, David Wiley, Robert Johnson, Lansine Kaba, Tom W. Shick, Robert Cummings, Diann H. Painter, Joel Samoff, Nzongola Ntalaja, William Minter, and Chris Root.
Used by permission of several co-chairs of the Association of Concerned Africa Scholars
Collection: William Minter Southern Africa Papers