by Committee for Nonviolent Action
New York, New York, United States
Undated, December 1959
Publisher: Committee for Non-Violent Action
1 page
Type: Leaflet
Coverage in Africa: Algeria, Ghana
Coverage outside Africa: United States, France, United Nations
Language: English
The leaflet says we are walking in front of the French Government Tourist Office to show our support of the recent UN resolution calling on France not to break the present voluntary moratorium on nuclear tests. The leaflet says we are walking to demonstrate our support for the international team of volunteers who are now attempting to enter French African territory to reach the Sahara desert to symbolize the protest of peoples everywhere against the proposed atom bomb test. The leaflet says we appeal to President de Gaulle and the French people to respect the UN resolution; we appeal to France to assume moral leadership by voluntarily refusing to develop nuclear weapons -- a leadership which neither the United States not the USSR has been willing to assume; let France remain innocent of the atomic bomb. The leaflet says if France joins the "nuclear club," the door will be open for Germany, China, and others to develop their own atomic weapons. The leaflet says if France joins the "nuclear club," the possibility of an international ban on atomic tests and the beginnings of real disarmament with control may be even more difficult than they are now. The leaflet says you can write the Ambassador of France at 934 Fifth Avenue, New York City, urging that France respect world opinion and stop plans for her Sahara bomb test. The leaflet says you can send a message of your personal support directly to the Sahara Protest Team, P.O. Box M18, Accra, Ghana. The leaflet says the Sahara Protest, sponsored by Bertrand Russell and Lord Boyd Orr of the United Kingdom; Martin Luther King, A.J. Muste, Linus Pauling of the United States; Martin Neimoeller of Germany; and others. The leaflet says in USA, Committee for Non-Violent Action -- George Willoughby, Chairman; Lawrence Scott, Coordinator; New York members of Executive Committee: Albert Bigelow, David Dellinger, Ralph DiGia, Robert Gilmore, Alfred Hassler, William Huntington, James Peck, Glenn Smiley. [Note: 1) Apparently this leaflet was passed out at daily pickets of the French Tourist office that began on December 25; see the December 22, 1959 issue of CNVA News, available on this website. 2) The correct spelling of the name is Martin Niemoller.]
Collection: Winifred Courtney papers