Minutes, ACAS Conference Call - January 15, 1980

by Association of Concerned Africa Scholars
January 1980
2 pages
Type: Meeting Minutes
Coverage in Africa: South Africa, Southern Africa
Coverage outside Africa: United States
Language: English
Contents:  Report on plans for panels at annual meeting • Organization of conference itself • Other business • People on the call were Jim Turner, Immanuel Wallerstein, Bob Johnson, Ann Seidman, Chris Root, Nzongola Ntalaja, Willard Johnson, and Bill Minter. David Wiley and Root will organize publicity: a) meeting announcement, b) mailing to membership, ASA & AHSA lists, ACOA key list, c) announcements in journals: Southern Africa, Black Scholar, Africa Today, Journal of Southern African Studies, and d) local distribution in Washington area. The minutes mention Steve Weissman, Herschelle Challenor, Mtshana Ncube, John Harrington, Dumisani Kumalo, ACOA (American Committee on Africa), Karen Rothmyer, Charlie Cobb, Reed Kramer, the Taskforce on Media, Josh Nessen, Ben Magubane, Randall Robinson, ASA (African Studies Association), AHSA (African Heritage Studies Association), South African government agents, Noam Chomsky, South African government agents, and Jennifer Davis.

Used by permission of several co-chairs of the Association of Concerned Africa Scholars.
Collection: William Minter Southern Africa Papers