by International Campaign Against Racism in Sport
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
March 1978
2 pages
Type: Report
Coverage in Africa: South Africa
Coverage outside Africa: United States
Language: English
Participants in the Conference on International Sport, Politics, Racism and Apartheid held at Meharry Medical College in Nashville, Tennessee on March 10-12, 1978. The list includes: 1. ROBERT BAKER, Secretary of International Campaign Against Racism in Sport (ICARIS) International Center to Document Crimes of Apartheid; South African Consciousness Office. 2. DENNIS BRUTUS, Chairperson of ICARIS; President of South African Non-Racial Olympic Committee (SAN-ROC). 3. TINA BRUTUS BAKER, International Center to Document Crimes of Apartheid. 4. BASIL CLUNIE, Member of ICARIS and South Africa Liberation Information (SALIG). 5. JOHN DOMMISSEE, Executive committee member of American Coordination Committee For Equality in Sports & Society (ACCESS). 6. REV. AL DORTCH, The Newport Beach Protest. 7. BOB EDGAR, Ad Hoc Committee to stop the Davis Cup Match; Southern Africa Support Committee West Coast. 8. RAY GOULD, South Africa Liberation Information Group. 9. SHELBY HOWATT, Assistant Director of Coalition for Human Rights in South Africa. 10. YOLANDA HUET-VAUGHN, Coordinator of ICARIS Conference 1978; Meharry Medical College. 11. WAYNE KAMIN, Regional Organizer, American Friends Service Committee (AFSC), Austin, Texas. 12. SUSAN KAPCYNSKI, Ad Hoc Committee for China in 1980 Olympics. 13. BRUCE KIDD, Canada and the Edmonton Games 1978. 14. RICHARD LAPCHICK, Executive Director of American Coordination Committee for Equality in Sports & Society (ACCESS); Virginia Wesleyan University. 15. BENJAMIN LOWE, Review Editor, Review of Sport & Leisure. 16. ELLEN FRANK MARK, Coordinator, ICARIS, Executive Secretary of Steve Biko Memorial Committee of Chicago. 17. DEAN MCHENRY. 18. WINSTON NAGAN, Former Secretary of ICARIS, former Ambassador to Ghana. 19. TOM NEWNHAM, Spokesperson Citizens Association for Racial Equality (CARE) New Zealand. 20. TREVOR RICHARDS, Organizer of Halt All Racism Tours (HART) New Zealand. 21. BARRY RIGBY, Member of HART; South African Coalition. 22. DONALD TEMPLE, Balsa, University of Santa Clara. 23. DR. SWANPO SIE (INDONESIA), Games of the Emerging Forces (GANEFO). 24. GEORGE SINGH, South African Council on Sports. 25. ED SLOAN. [Notes: This document was part of the conference packet.]

Collection: Private collection of Robert Edgar