[Dear TransAfrica member:]

by Randall Robinson, TransAfrica
Washington, DC, United States
Mqy 12, 1992
Publisher: TransAfrica
2 pages
Type: Mailing
Coverage outside Africa: United States, Caribbean, Haiti
Language: English
The mailing describes TransAfrica's plans for the upcoming year and includes a 1992 ballot for the TransAfrica Board of Directors. The annual conference and 15th annual dinner will be on June 5-6, 1992.  Haitian President Jean Bertrand Aristide will be the keynote dinner speaker. TransAfrica’s recent work has concentrated on the plight of the Haitian refugees, progress towards human rights in Kenya, Malawi and Zaire, negotiations in South Africa, upcoming elections in Angola, and civil strife in Liberia. By the summer of 1993, TransAfrica plans to move into its newly acquired headquarters which will have as its centerpiece a library and resource center on issues concerning Africa and the Caribbean. Financial support is needed to move ahead with this plan. The Board of Directors ballot should be returned by May 20, 1992 or brought to the membership meeting on June 6. The ballot includes Courtland Cox, Mayor Richard Hatcher, Dr. Dorothy Height, Dr. Willard Johnson, William Lucy, Dr. James Turner, Rep. Maxine Waters, Bishop John Hurst Adams, Mary Frances Berry, William H. Cosby, Earl G. Graves, Karimu Johnson, Quincy Jones, James A. Joseph, and Butch E. Lewis.
Used by permission of TransAfrica.
Collection: William Minter Southern Africa Papers