Interlocking Directorates: Trustees of Princeton University on the Boards of Directors of Corporations with South African Involvement

by Princeton Coalition for Divestment
Princeton, New Jersey, United States
Undated, about April 1985
2 pages
Type: Memorandum
Coverage in Africa: Namibia, South Africa
Coverage outside Africa: United States
Language: English
The memorandum says below is a listing of the voting members Board of Trustees of Princeton University, the governing body which will decide the University's policy towards investment in South Africa; because the vast majority of the Trustees are business executives, it is not surprising that 12 of the 39 voting members of the board are either employed by or serve on the board of directors of companies with investments of South Africa or its colony Namibia; these facts do not mean that it would be impossible for the Trustees to vote for divestment, since it is common practice for directors of corporations to disqualify themselves from deliberations in which a conflict of interest is present; it does help give a realistic picture of what we're up against. The memorandum says the list was assembled using Who's Who, the UN report of corporations with involvement in Namibia, Princeton University's report on investments in corporations with South African Involvement, and information from the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility. The memorandum includes a list of Trustees by type (Ex Officio, Charter Trustees, Term Trustees and Alumni Trustees). The memorandum discusses William G. Bowen, NCR Corp., Readers Digest, Thomas H. Kean, Governor of New Jersey, Franklin E. Agnew, H.J. Heinz Co., William O. Baker, the Andrew W, Mellon Foundation, John C. Beck, Beck, Mack & Oliver, R. Manning Brown Jr., Union Carbide Corp., William Hambrecht, James A. Henderson, Cummins Engine Company, Richard R. Hough, Nicholas deB. Katzenbach, John C. Kenefick, IBM Corp., John F. McGillicudy, Westinghouse Electric Co., Continental Corp., Gerald L. Parsky, Nancy B. Peretsman, Richard R. Pivirotto, John J.F. Sherrerd, Paul A. Volker, Chase Manhattan Bank, Maria v.N. Whitman (Marina von Neumann Whitman), John B. Ashmun, H. Brewster Atwater Jr., Michael J. Calhoun, Ralph D. DeNunzio, Juanita T. James, Eva Lerner-Lam, John W. McCarter Jr., DeKalb Pfizer Genetics, Russell B. Newton, Joel Achenbach, Roger S. Berlind, Thomas D. Boyall, W. Hodding Carter III, U.S.-South Africa Leader Exchange Program, Malcolm S. Forbes, E. Peter Gillette Jr., Norwest Corp., John R. Guthrie, Michael D. Iseman, Lisa S. McGovern, George J. Sella Jr., General Motors Corp. (GM), American Cyanamid Co. Timothy C. Wu, the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR),and CBS Inc.  [This item is included in "The Princeton Coalition for Divestment: A Case History, April - June 1985."]
Used by permission of Thomas J. Knock. 
Collection: Thomas J. Knock papers