Documents of the International Seminar on The Role of Transnational Corporations in Namibia

by American Committee on Africa
New York, New York, United States
Undated, December 2, 1982 or a little later
4 pages
List of 44 documents for the International Seminar, including Report of the Working Groups of the International Seminar on the Role of Transnational Corporations in Namibia adopted by the concluding plenary session I) Political Action II) Economic Action III) Material Aid IV) Information.  Authors/presenters of other papers include Terry Shott, ELTSA (End Loans to South Africa); The Taskforce on Churches and Corporate Responsibility; Brian Bolton, Transport and General Workers' Union; Elizabeth Groff, American Friends Service Committee (AFSC); Sterling Bjorndahl, Inter-Lutheran Committee for Nuclear Responsibility; The Toronto Committee for the Liberation of Southern Africa (TCLSAC); Research, Information and Publications Department of the International Defence and Aid Fund for Southern Africa (IDAF); Gail Hovey, American Committee on Africa (ACOA); Eric Erichsen, Danish Association for International Co-operation;  Bertil Hogberg, Africa Groups of Sweden; Arne Tostensen, Scandinavian Institute of African Studies; Gottfried Wellmer, Anti-Apartheid Bewegung; Jan Van Heukelom, Aktiekomitte Zuidelijk Afrika; Ms Yoko Kitazawa, Pacific Resource Center; David de Beer; the Namibia Association; Kim Zalent, Lutheran Coalition on Southern Africa; Susan Hurlich, Oxfam-Canada; Allen D. Cooper, St. Augustine's College; James Cason, Southern Africa Committee; the Southern Africa Task Force of Houston; Richard Moorsom; Solveig Kjeseth, Namibia Concerns Committee; Abdul Hamid (Indonesia) of the United Nations Special Committee Against Apartheid; Chris Child, British Anti-Apartheid Movement; Jim Morrell, Center for International Policy; H.E. Mohamed Sahnoun (Algeria), Vice-President of the United Nations Council for Namibia; Alun R. Roberts; Ronald W. Walters, Howard University; Peter Sluiter, Komittee Zuidelijk Afrika [Holland Committee on Southern Africa]; Henning Melber; Gay J. McDougall, Southern Africa Project, Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law; Susanne Riveles, South Africa/Namibia Coordinator, Amnesty International; Carole Collins, Campaign to Oppose Bank Loans to South Africa (COBLSA); Pat Kyle, Southern Indiana United Methodist Churches in and Others in Support of Southern Africans (SUMOSSA); Jacques Marchand, Mouvement Anti-Apartheid; Brian Wood, Namibia Support Committee; Sean MacBride; Theo-Ben Gurirab, SWAPO; Francesta Farmer, Congressional Black Caucus; Randall Robinson, TransAfrica; Wilfrid Grenville-Grey; and Hinyangerwa Asheeke. The document discusses banks, uranium, Saskatchewan, education, mobilization, labor conditions, TNCs (Transnational Corporations), economic links, Namibia's exploiters, divestment actions, Scandinavia, Federal Republic of Germany, Namibia Foreningen, Karakul Industry, the Hudson's Bay Company, U.S. corporate investment, Tripoli Declaration on Namibia, the Namibian fishing industry, Wartburg Seminary, illegal South African occupation, the International Monetary Fund (IMF), uranium, colonization, German Colonial Rule, Decree No. 1 for the Protection of the Natural Resources of Namibia, Detention Without Trial, Torture of Political Detainees, Extrajudicial Executions, international capital, and the mining industry.
Used by permission of Africa Action (successor to the American Committee on Africa).