Special Session of the Executive Board Meeting of the American Committee on Africa August 27, 1957

by American Committee on Africa
New York, New York, United States
Undated, sometime after August 27, 1957
1 page
Type: Meeting Minutes
Coverage in Africa: Africa
Coverage outside Africa: United States
Language: English
Contents: Attendance • Report of the Organization Committee • The minutes report on new members of the ACOA National Committee that will be listed on special appeals by ACOA. Among those to be invited to service on this Committee are Lester Granger, Roy Wilkins, Herbert Lehman, Harry Belafonte, and Lloyd K. Garrison. Others to be approached include Dean Pike, Gardner Cowles, the Rev. Martin Luther King, Oscar Hammerstein, II, and Mrs. Roosevelt. Future invitations will go to prominent Catholics Archbishop Lucy, Archbishop Ritter, Archbishop Rummel, Bishop Wright, and John Courtney Murray. Executive Committee members include Nelson Bengston, Elizabeth Landis, Phyllis Susskind, Dale Harrison, and Albert Jones.
Used by permission of Africa Action (successor to the American Committee on Africa).
Collection: Peter Weiss (Africa collection), Michigan State University Libraries Special Collections