Re: Organization Committee Meeting of February 13, 1959

by Gilbert Jonas, American Committee on Africa
New York, New York, United States
February 13, 1959
2 pages
Type: Memorandum
Coverage in Africa: Africa
Coverage outside Africa: United States
Language: English
Memorandum from Gilbert Jonas to the ACOA Executive Board reporting nomination of Max Berking, Robert Clampitt, Ed Gray, Donald Harrington, George Haynes, Gilbert Jonas, Elizabeth Landis, Frank Montero, Elliott Newcomb, Bayard Rustin, George Shepherd, Phyllis Susskind, Robert Trentlyon, Peter Weiss, and Hope Stevens. The memorandum also explains the role of the Organization Committee in procedures for future nominations of officers, as described in the By-Laws. The memorandum reports re-nomination of these officers: Donald Harrington, Chairman of the Board; Elliott Newcomb and Peter Weiss, Vice Chairmen of the Board; George Haynes, Treasurer; and Elizabeth Landis, Secretary. These people were nominated for elections as Honorary Vice Chairmen: Mrs. Franklin Delano Roosevelt, Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr., and Gardner Cowles. 
Used by permission of Africa Action (successor to the American Committee on Africa).
Collection: Peter Weiss papers, Michigan State University Libraries Special Collections