Minutes ACOA Executive Board Meeting, June 11, 1975

American Committee on Africa Financial Report January 1, 1975 to August 31, 1975
by American Committee on Africa
New York, New York, United States
Undated, September 1975
6 pages
Type: Meeting Minutes
Coverage outside Africa: United States, France, United Nations
Language: English
Contents: Attendance • 2. Mulder Protest • 3. Plans for Mozambique Independence Celebrations • 4. Report from ZANU Representative Tapson Mawere • 5. Report from SWAPO Representative Theo-Ben Gurirab • 6. Finances • 7. Election • 8. Washington Report • Sanctions • 9. Arms Embargo • 10. Conference of local action groups • American Committee on Africa Finance Report January 1, 1975 to August 31, 1975 • The minutes report on South African Minister of Information Connie Mulder and a protest and hostile questioning by Black City Councilmen at a meeting with Mulder in Los Angeles, the Black Caucus, Charles Diggs, Nathaniel Davis, celebration of Mozambique’s independence in Lourenço Marques that Paul Irish and Janet Hooper will attend for ACOA and an informal celebration in New York at the home of Bill and Betsy Landis (with slides, FRELIMO poetry, and a taped interview with Eduardo Mondlane), Mozambican students, the OAU (Organization of African Unity), the circumstances of the arrest of Mawere and Synos Mangazva in Delaware and their legal defense, current negotiations with Ian Smith and South Africa and Zimbabwean liberation movements, the African National Council, Bishop Muzorewa, armed struggle, ZANU, ZAPU, Ndabaningi Sithole, James Chikerema, Joshua Nkomo, the triple veto in the Security Council regarding Namibia, political prisoners, Resolution 366, the Odendaal Plan, Vorster, Herero Chief Clemens Kapuuo, SWANU, SWANUF, NUDO, the Seed Money Program, The Africa Fund Trustees, Michael Davis, Collin Gonze, Herbert Shore, Robert Van Lierop, Moe Foner, Golar Butcher, Les Campbell, Elombe Brath, WABC-TV, David Lampbell, WLIB-AM, Mrs. Oseye Mchawi, the Committee to Aid African Independence, Allen Gregory Harris, Elsie Carrington, George Daniels, Dorothy Hibbert, Gail Morlan, Richard Stevens, Andrew Norman, William Booth, Winifred Courtney, Jay Jacobson, David Robinson, Tilden LeMelle, Edgar (Ted) Lockwood, Elizabeth Landis, The Africa Fund Trustees, Isaac Bivens, Sophie Yarnell Jacobs, Peter Weiss, Jacob Clayman, William B. Landis, Charles Pratt, Elder Hawkins, Frank C. Montero, John L.S. Holloman, Jan Van Hoogstraten, Edwin L. Crosby, the Paris Anti-Apartheid Conference sponsored by the UN, the Commerce, Treasury and State Departments, the origins of steel imports, the Washington Office on Africa (WOA), the U.S. Security Council vote against a mandatory arms embargo, documents released by the Anti-Apartheid Movement in the UK, SA/NATO links, develop support for a bill which would end nuclear technical aid, Senator Clark, the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, Chris Root, a proposal to hold a conference of local  groups working on Southern Africa, strengthening links and increasing effectiveness of action, the ITT Annual General Meeting in Charlotte, Robert Browne, Lawrence Henderson, William Johnston, George Houser, Jennifer Davis, Marvin Rich, and Richard Knight.  [Note: The Financial Report was apparently mailed to Executive Board members with the minutes of the June 11, 1975 Executive Board meeting.]
Used by permission of Africa Action (successor to the American Committee on Africa).
Collection: Peter Weiss papers, Michigan State University Libraries Special Collections