Decisions of the Combined Meeting of the Organization Committee and the Ad Hoc Committee on ACOA Relations with the Negro Community - held July 6

by American Committee on Africa
New York, New York, United States
July 8, 1960
1 page
Type: Policy Document
Coverage in Africa: Africa
Coverage outside Africa: United States
Language: English
Contents: 1. Committee Assignments • 2. It was agreed to again approach A. Philip Randolph to become co-chairman, with powers not defined, but to be a voting member of the Board. • 3. Continuing efforts will be made to invite Rev. Milton Galamison, Dr. George B. Cannon, and Judge Samuel Pierce, Jr., to become members of the Board. • 4. Others people to be invited to be Board members are Maida Springer, Victor Reuther, and Rev. Moran Weston. • 5. It was agreed to drop Lillian Sharp Hunter and J. Raymond Jones as nominees to the Board. • 6. It was agreed to ask Lorraine Hansberry to join the National Committee. • The minutes record the following changes in Committee assignments: Ed Gray and Adelaide Schulkind are dropped from the Organization Committee and Bayard Rustin is added; Stanley Levision will chair the Personnel Committee; Ann Montero will be added to the U.N. Committee; Max Harvey is to be added to the Finance Committee if he is available; Sophie Jacobs will be asked to join the Finance Committee; A. A. Castagno will be considered for the Publications Committee; John Murra will chair the Research Committee; Harold Isaacs and Steven Lowenstein will be asked to join the Research Committee. Sophie Jacobs will be asked to chair the reconstituted Visitors Committee, which will be called the Reception Committee, and Cora Weiss and Mrs. Stanley Levison will be asked to join that committee. The minutes mention Bayard Rustin, Hope Stevens, George Houser, Homer Jack, Jean Noble, and Peter Weiss.
Used by permission of Africa Action (successor to the American Committee on Africa).
Collection: Peter Weiss (Africa collection), Michigan State University Libraries Special Collections