Minutes of the Executive Board of the American Committee on Africa June 29, 1959

by American Committee on Africa
New York, New York, United States
Undated, sometime after June 29, 1959 and before the next Executive Board meeting
5 pages
Type: Meeting Minutes
Coverage outside Africa: United States
Language: English
Contents: Attendance • Agenda and Minutes • Ann Morrissett • New Division of Responsibilities • Finance Report • Stock and Bond Sales • Signatures on Checks • Defense and Aid Fund • I. Purpose • II. Name • III. Sponsors • IV. Trustees • V. Relation with ACOA • VI. Staff • VII. Immediate plans for action • ACOA National Committee Nominations • Chiume and Nkomo • Haldane Roberto • Africa Freedom Day, 1960 • Prime Minister Azikiwe and President Sekou Toure • Office Space • The minutes mention raising money for the South Africa Defense Fund, enumerated responsibilities of the Executive Director George Houser (GMH), and Associate Executive Director Homer Jack), the Treasurer, the total ACOA budget for 1959, the Africa Defense and Aid Fund, charitable and educational assistance to Africans in the U.S. and abroad, legal aid, well-known Negro, labor and religious leaders, South Africa Defense Fund, Jackie Robinson, A. Philip Randolph, administer funds, fund-raising, requests for immediate legal aid, the Central African Federation, Africa Freedom Fund proposed by Tom Mboya, Kanyama Chiume and Joshua Nkomo to be invited to tour the U.S., American Society of African Culture (AMSAC), new office at 801 Second Avenue, the National Committee, Donald Harrington, Nelson Bengston, George Edmund Haynes, Elizabeth S. Landis, William X. Scheinman, Adelaide Schulkind, George W. Shepherd, Jr., Hugh H. Smythe, William Sorsby, Peter Weiss, Robert Delson, Dale Harrington, Claud Barnett, Daisy Bates, Rep. Chester Bowles, Gov. Edmund G. Brown (Cal.), Elmer Carter, Gov. Michael V. DiSalle (Ohio), Justice William O. Douglas, David Dubinsky, Cyrus Eaton, Sen. Clair Engle, E. Franklin Frazier, Gov. O. L. Freeman (Minn.), Gov. Foster Furcolo (Mass.), Lester Granger, Averell Harriman, Sen. Philip A. Hart, Judge William Hastie, Gov. Hark Harfield (Ore.), Ralph Helstein, Stanley Isaacs, Rep. Byron Johnson, John .E. Johnson, Sen. Jacob K. Javits, Sen. Kenneth B. Keating, Gov. David L. Lawrence (Pa.), Rep. John V. Lindsay, David MacDonald, Benjamin E. Mays, Sen. Gale W. McGee, Judge Sam Pierce, Jacob Potofsky, P. L. Prattis, Sen. William Proxmire, Clarence Randall, Victor Reuther, Walter Reuther, Gov. A. A. Ribicoff (Conn.), Gov. Nelson A. Rockefeller (N.Y.), Sen. Hugh Scott, John Sengstacke, Michael Straight, Roy Wilkins, Gov. G. Mennen Williams (Mich.), Sen. Harrison A. Williams, Sen. Stephen M. Young, Arnold Zander, Robert Benjamin, Edward L. Bernays, Mrs. John S. Bowman, Cheryl Crawford, Alfred de Liagre, Jr., Eliot Eliofson, Thomas K. Finletter, Lloyd K. Garrison, Mrs. R. V. Ingersoll, Dr. William Manger, Mrs. Dorothy Norman, Frederick O'Neill, Mrs. Alice Pollitzer, Whitelaw Reid, Philip Rose, Eustace Seligman, Henry Siegbert, and Mrs. Ronald Tree. [Note: Haldane Roberto is presumably Holden Roberto.]
Used by permission of Africa Action (successor to the American Committee on Africa). 
Collection: Peter Weiss (Africa collection), Michigan State University Libraries Special Collections