Executive Board MINUTES March 11, 1963

by American Committee on Africa
New York, New York, United States
Undated, sometime after March 30, 1963 and before the next Executive Board meeting, perhaps early May 1963
4 pages
Contents: Attendance •  2. Gift for Eduardo Mondlane • 3. Africa Freedom Day Plans • a) Public Meeting • b) Picketing South African ships • 4. Letter to Salazar • 5. Tenth Anniversary Plans • 6. Miriam Makeba benefit • 7. Board Elections • 8. Financial relationship of ADAF and ACOA and payments to Mary-Louise Hooper • 9. Annual Report • a. General Discussion of Committee Role • b. Finances • c. ADAF • d. Literature • The minute mention George Houser, a symposium on the theme “The Unfinished Struggle for Freedom in Africa” (including both areas still under colonial control and independent Africa), AMSAC (American Society of African Culture), Holden Roberto, Jariretundu Kozonguizi, Oliver Tambo, Anthony Scotto, the International Longshoremen’s Association (ILA), Jane Farmer, CORE (Congress of Racial Equality), draft letter to Premier Salazar on the second anniversary of the start of the Angolan revolt (March 15), sympathy with the Portuguese people in their own struggle, a committee to plan 10th anniversary events (Daniel Bernstein, Stanley Levison and Peter Weiss), a special issue of AFRICA TODAY, James Robinson, ADAF (Africa Defense and Aid Fund), Mason Sears, the Trusteeship Council at the United Nations, ERA (Emergency Relief to Angola), ACOA’s role in providing critical perspective on U.S. policy towards Africa and possible extension to economic and education fields in independent Africa, the Highfields School in Southern Rhodesia, Patrick van Rensberg’s school in Bechuanaland, the National Union of South African Students (NUSAS), Annual Budget Appeal, James Robinson, expenses of Dr. Gilchrist in the Congo, the Methodist Board of Missions, Hugh Smythe, N. Bengston, Elsie Carrington, Winifred Courtney, Clarence Jones, David Jones, John Murra, Collin Gonze, Deborah Kallen, Catherine Raymond, James Robinson, James Farmer, Donald Harrington, Sophia Yarnell Jacobs, Frank Montero, Andy Norman, James Robinson, and Adelaide Schulkind.
Used by permission of Africa Action (successor to the American Committee on Africa). 
Collection: Peter Weiss papers, Michigan State University Libraries Special Collections