Executive Board MINUTES July 8, 1963

by American Committee on Africa
New York, New York, United States
Undated, sometime after July 8, 1963
3 pages
Contents: Attendance • 1. Gift from Charles C. Cristadoro to the Emergency Relief to Angola (ERA) • 3. Brief Reports • a) Peter Weiss appearance before Congressional committee • b) Eleanor Roosevelt Memorial Scholarship Fund • c) Finances: ACOA and ADAF • d) Africa Today and Literature • e) Rev. George Lawrence membership on ACOA Board • f) Charles Engelhard • 4. South Africa • a) UN Special Committee on Apartheid • b) Joint ACOA-CORE action supported by the ILA • c) Petition campaign • d) South Africa’s membership in the UN • 5. Forthcoming Security Council Meeting • 6. Angolan coffee boycott • 7. ACOA tax-exemption • 8. George Houser trip to Africa • The minutes mention medical supplies, the foreign aid bill, John Marcum, Daniel Bernstein, ADAF (Africa Defense and Aid Fund), James Robinson, Collin Gonze, the Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC), a letter to President Kennedy regarding Engelhard (an apologist for South Africa) as part of the official delegation to celebration of the first anniversary of Algerian independence, possible purchase of shares in the American-South African Investment Trust in order to protest to stockholders, Mason Sears, U.S. companies in South Africa conforming to racial policies of the minority government, Patrick Duncan, Mary Benson, Ruth First, Stanley Uys, the African National Congress (ANC), the Secretary of State, Martin Luther King, picketing of a ship carrying South African goods, the Eighteenth Session of the UN General Assembly, Anthony Scotto, the ILA (International Longshoreman's Association), the Northern California Committee on Africa, unions on the West Coast, an arms embargo against South Africa, visits of U.S. arms salesmen, Harold Wilson’s promise that a Labour Government would implement an embargo, delivery of seven Lockheed transport planes, ICFTU (International Confederation of Free Trade Unions), the Portuguese territories, the Malagasy Republic, the Addis Ababa Heads of State conference, Swedish boycott organizations, Paul Wohl of the Christian Science Monitor, Andy Norman, Leopoldville, the Congo-Angola border, Elsie Carrington, Winifred Courtney, Farrell Jones, Adelaide Schulkind, Deborah Kallen, Hope Stevens, James Robinson, Nelson Bengston, James Farmer, Sophia Yarnall Jacobs, Stan Levison, John Murra, J.H. Robinson, C. Jones, D. Jones, and Bayard Rustin.
Used by permission of Africa Action (successor to the American Committee on Africa). 
Collection: Peter Weiss (Africa collection), Michigan State University Libraries Special Collections