Executive Board MINUTES

by American Committee on Africa
New York, New York, United States
Undated, sometime after September 16, 1963
3 pages
Contents: Attendance • 2. March on Washington • 3. Brief Reports • a. South African items • Dr. Martin Luther King's appearance before UN Committee on Apartheid • ILA (International Longshoremen's Association) action against South African shipping • Martha Schlamme tour of South Africa • Study on US Investments • Buying Stock in American-South African Investment Trust • b. Pamphlet on Portuguese Territories • c. Eleanor Roosevelt Memorial Scholarship Fund • d. Finances • e. Literature finances • f. Tenth Anniversary Issue of Africa Today • g. Charles C. Cristadoro • 4. Report from John Marcum on Angola • 5. Petition on sanctions against South Africa • 6. New Board Member • 7. South African membership in the United Nations • 8. Resignation • 9. Leave of Absence • The minutes mention Donald Harrington, N. Bengston, E. Carrington, J. Jablow, S.Y. Jacobs, Andrew Norman, A. Schulkind, H. Stevens, D. Jones, F. Jones, S. Levison, C. Robinson, J. Robinson, J. Farmer, D. Kallen, George Houser, Peter Weiss, A. Philip Randolph, Bayard Rustin, solidarity with the civil rights movement, the Negro Leadership Conference on Africa, Roy Wilkins, the a South African ship, South African goods, Dan Bernstein, the Secretary-General, the Security Council, ADAF (Africa Defense and Aid Fund), ERA (Emergency Relief to Angola), Collin Gonze, Colin Legum, African leaders, Robert Henri, Leopoldville, the Bakongo area of the Congo, suspension of recognition of the South African Government, support at United Nations for a world-wide boycott of South Africa, Ambassador Stevenson, Rev. George Lawrence, Winifred Courtney, Frank Montero, the US Mission to the UN, and John Murra.
Used by permission of Africa Action (successor to the American Committee on Africa). 
Collection: Peter Weiss papers, Michigan State University Libraries Special Collections