Executive Board Annual Meeting MINUTES

by American Committee on Africa
New York, New York, United States
Undated, sometime after March 16, 1964
3 pages
Contents: Attendance • 1. Reports on projects • a) Consultative Council on South Africa • b) International Conference on Economic Sanctions Against South Africa held by the Anti-Apartheid Movement • c) ACOA Africa trip • d) Dr. Ian Gilchrist's U.S. speaking tour • e) Theater benefit • 2. Board elections • 3. Annual Report • a) Fundraising mailing results - James Robinson • b) Report of Executive Director George Houser on "African Dynamics and ACOA Direction" • 4. Frequency of Board meetings • The minutes mention meeting that led a Consultative Council on South Africa, CORE (Congress of Racial Equality), NAACP, SNCC (Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee), UAW (United Automobile Workers), IUE (International Union of Electronic, Electrical, Technical, Salaried & Machine Workers), United World Federalists, U.S. National Student Association, United Church Board for World Ministries, the Security Council, the General Assembly, the UN Special Committee on Apartheid, torture of political prisoners, the International Red Cross, Peter Weiss, African Heads of State, the Penguin African Library, Angolan refugees, Emergency Relief to Angola (ERA), the Collegiate Council for the United Nations in Chicago, The Blood Knot, Sponono, Alan Payton, Nelson Bengston, Joseph Jablow, Sophia Yarnall Jacobs, Andrew Norman, Victor Reuther, Cleveland Robinson, William X. Scheinman, Adelaide Schulkind, Robert Browne, Elmer Carter, Mark Cohen, Forrest Johnson, Frederick A.O. Schwarz, Jr., Mason Sears, Collin Gonze, Africa Today, developments in Africa and ACOA policy,  the Congo crisis, the struggle for freedom, independent African states, formation of the Organization of African Unity (OAU), Presidential election year, supporting the freedom movements, the Negro community, the continuing crisis on civil rights in U.S., Donald Harrington, Elsie Carrington, Winifred Courtney, James Farmer, Gilbert Jones, Farrell Jones, Stanley Levison, Hope Stevens, Deborah Kallen, and Catharine Raymond.
Used by permission of Africa Action (successor to the American Committee on Africa).
Collection: Peter Weiss papers, Michigan State University Libraries Special Collections