Steering Committee MINUTES November 9, 1964

by American Committee on Africa
New York, New York, United States
Undated, sometime after November 9, 1964 and before the next meeting December 7, 1964
3 pages
Contents: Attendance • 1. Julian Friedman Research Project • 2. Small Gatherings or Lunches • 3. Executive Director report on trip to Africa • 4. Political Refugee Situation • a) Tanganyika and Mozambicans • b) Lusaka • c) Leopoldville, Dr. Gilchrist • d) Mozambican Refugees in the Congo • 5. Aftermath of the Election 6. The Congo • 7. Rhodesia • 8. New "Mini Fund" • 9. Pen-Pal Project • The minutes mention research on involvement of U.S. business in South Africa by Friedman, the Washington Conference on South Africa, African U.N. representatives, possible speakers at monthly gatherings (Fwanyanga Mulikita, Dr. Kenneth Kaunda, Mr. Coulibaly of Mali and chairman of the UN Committee of 24, Nathan Shamuyarira of ZANU (Zimbabwe African National Union), Eduardo Mondlane of FRELIMO, Holden Roberto of the Government-in-Exile of Angola, Lord Caradon (Hugh Foot), Oscar Kambona, Congressman Donald Frazer, Herbert Matthews - editor of the New York Times, Lawrence Gander - visiting editor of Johannesburg Rand Daily Mail), split in the Pan-Africanist Congress (PAC), the East African Federation, the Tanganyika-Zanzibar union, Julius Nyerere, Abeid Arnan Karume, Charles W. Engelhard (investor in South Africa and leader of U.S. delegation to Zambian independence), 7,000 refugees from Mozambique in Tanganyika and Frelimo request for assistance by outside agencies, International Refugee Council of Zambia run by Commander G.H. Cunningham of Great Britain, South West Africa, members of Congress who might be added to ACOA National Committee, Collin Gonze, Special Release on the executions of three South African freedom fighters (Vuyisile Mini, Zinakile Mkaba and Wilson Khayingo) and request for funds for their families, Helen Joseph, the South Africa Bulletin, Africa Today, Peter Weiss, Nelson Bengston, David Jones, Elizabeth Landis, Stanley Levison, Andrew Norman, Hugh Smythe, Hope Stevens, Mary-Louise Hooper, George Houser, and James Robinson.
Used by permission Africa Action (successor to the American Committee on Africa).
Collection: Peter Weiss papers, Michigan State University Libraries Special Collections