by South Africa/Namibia Coordination Group, Susanne Riveles, Amnesty International USA
with Paul Lazar, Elizabeth Kiss, Marc Epstein
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
September-October 1983
Publisher: Amnesty International USA
37 pages
Type: Mailing
Coverage outside Africa: United States, Europe, United Nations
Language: English
Contents: Destabilization in Southern Africa - A Review • AIUSA Prisoner Update • Amnesty's Continued Work on Behalf of People in Southern Africa • The Region • *Mozambique • *Lesotho • *Seychelles • *Swaziland • Hospitalization of South African Detainees • South Africa: Detentions in Ciskei • Urgent Actions • Clippings: • *Government Still to Act on Rikhoto • *Five Die in Ciskei Police Blockage • *Ciskei • *Foes of Apartheid Hold Large Rally • *South Africa Suspends Student Quota System • *U.N. Chief Offers Help at Talks on Angola • *Huge Crowd at UDF Launch • *AZAPO Wants End to Intergroup Friction • *Sisulu • *For Two Apartheid Foes, A Sisterhood of Shared Fate • *Zuby Has Always Been Free • *Amnesty Slams Bannings • The mailing reprints newspaper articles including "Government still to act on Rikhoto,” "Five die in Ciskei police blockage" by Patrick Laurence, "Ciskei," "FOES OF APARTHEID HOLD LARGE RALLY" by Joseph Lelyveld, "South Africa Suspends Student Quota System," "U.N. Chief Offers Help at Talks on Angola,” "Huge crowd at UDF launch" by Zwelakhe Sisulu, "AZAPO wants end to intergroup friction,” "Sisulu" by Mokoane Makobane, "For 2 Apartheid Foes, a Sisterhood of Shared Fate" by Joseph Lelyveld, "Zuby has always been 'free'" by Sinna Nunene, "AMNESTY SLAMS BANNINGS,” and "OAU BOOTS HUMAN RIGHTS.” The mailing discusses Simon Wayene, General Workers' Union, the Ciskei Security Police, the Ciskei National Security Act of 1982, Priscilla Maxongo, the South African Allied Workers Union (SAAWU), Wongama Janes Nguondela, detention without charge or trial, South African Security Police, Kwazakele, the Internal Security Act, the Security Police, Tuli Vuyami Bobo, New Brighton township, Michael Zweliyazuza Xego, Melvin Maupuuye, Norman Bonani, Dr. Christian Beyers-Naude, Winnie Mandela, Dr. Ramphele Mamphele, Andrew Boraine, Phil Mtimkulu, Fanyana and Thandisizwe Mazibuko, Siza Njikelana, Lulamile Sotaka, Caweni Sotyelelwa, Mdantsane, Nkosehlanja Mkonjwa, Benson Nkasinathi Fihla, Mono Badela, Arthur Mafisto Thuntsi, Horatius Vuyisile Mdleleni, banning orders, Rowley Arenstein, Achamd Cassiem, Noki Cekesani; Johnny James Issel; Maxwell Madlingozi, Dumile Nakanda, Florence Mkhize Mswane, Immanuel Gottlieb Maxhuilili Nathaniel, Mathatha Tsedu, the Program of Action for Banned People, President Samora Machel, the Mozambique Liberation Front (FRELIMO), MNR, capital punishment, the death penalty, South Africa's military and economic pressures, Lesotho Foreign Minister Evaristus R. Sekhonyana, the ANC (African National Congress), the Lesotho Liberation Army (LLA), apartheid, a military raid, Prime Minister Jonathan, U.S. State Department, the UN High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), Benjamin Masilo, the Christian Council of Lesotho, exile, the Police Mobile Unit (PMU), the Basutoland Congress Party (BCP), Seychelles President France-Albert René, mercenaries, a failed coup, the death of King Sobhuza II, Kangwane, KwaZulu, lngwavuma, Chief Buthelezi, cautious modernization, Prince Makhosetive, Jehovah's Witnesses, Godfrey Sipho Mdhluli, the Detainees' Parents Support Committee (DPSC), the Southern Africa Coordination Group, physical abuse, dumping in cold water, electric shock, Venda, Thozamile Gqweta, Reverend Simon Farisani, Lennox Sebe, Charles Sebe, the Transport and Allied Workers' Union (TAWU), Hintsa Siwisa, a bus boycott, Central Intelligence Service (CIS), Brigadier Harvey Tamsaca, the National Intelligence Service (NIS), the Bureau of State Security (BOSS), Major General Tallefer Minaar, Mbulelo Xaba, the National Security Act, the Ciskei Transport Corporation (CTC), the Ciskei National Independent Party (CNIP), Cameron Nzimane, Lulamile Qamarana, the African Food and Canning Workers’ Union, Bonisile Korushe, Charles Nqakula, the Media Workers’ Association of South Africa (MWASA), Eric Mntonga, Godfrey Shiba, the General Workers Union, Mzuzwana Mdyogolo, Boyce Melitasa, Bangumi Siswingwa, David Tandani, Bonisile Norushe, Proclamation AG 9, Amos Silongo, Eino Kuduma, Simon Nghipunya, Rupara village, Kavango, Simon Nghipuna, Timoteus Nepunda, Nelson Mandela, the United Democratic Front (UDF), the South African Council on Sport, and the OAU (Organization of African Unity).
Collection: Elizabeth S. Landis collection, National Archives of Namibia