by Southern Africa Project, Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law
Washington, DC, United States
October 1993
Publisher: Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law
11 pages
Type: Newsletter
Coverage in Africa: South Africa
Coverage outside Africa: United States
Language: English
Contents:SOUTH AFRICA: THE TRANSITION • KEY ISSUES • Power-Sharing • Regional Powers • The Nature of the Constitution-making Process • TIMETABLE • TRANSITIONAL STRUCTURES • The Transitional Executive Council • Independent Electoral Commission • POLITICAL VIOLENCE AND THE TRANSITION • The newsletter says on September 7, negotiating parties finalized terms for establishing the Transitional Executive Council (TEC or Council), the primary institution that will oversee the transition to democracy in South Africa. It has been over three years since Nelson Mandela was released from prison, yet blacks still cannot vote. The newsletter says in April, a 26-member "Multi-party Negotiating Forum" was formed to negotiate the terms of the transition, following the failure of the first such forum, the Convention for a Democratic South Africa (CODESA). Members of the security forces have engaged in acts of terrorism against civilians, and adequate measures have yet to be taken to transform the security force culture of repression and intolerance. The bitter adversarial relationship and distrust between the African community and the security forces continues. As the elections draws near, it is urgent to deploy a competent, unbiased police force in the townships that will have sufficient authority and legitimacy to neutralize the forces of destabilization. The newsletter discusses F.W. de Klerk, the National Party, the African National Congress (ANC), interests of the white minority, Joe Slovo, white extremists, a Government of National Unity and Reconstruction (GNUR), the Constituent Assembly, the Pan Africanist Congress (PAC), the Conservative Party (CP), the Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP), the first non-racial election, Markinor, the assassination of Communist Party leader Chris Hani, Secretary General Cyril Ramaphosa, regional governments, regional boundaries, a Delimitation Commission, the Freedom Alliance, the KwaZulu Government, Bophuthatswana, Ciskei, homelands, the Afrikaner Volksfront, right wing groups, armed right-wing protestors, the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC), the Independent Media Commission, the interim constitution, election law, political parties, the conservative Afrikaner Volksunie party, negotiator Roelf Meyer, Regional and Local Government and Traditional authorities, Law and Order, Stability and Security, Defence, Foreign Affairs, Status of Women, Intelligence, the Human Rights Commission, deaths attributable to political violence, townships, squatter camps, polls on election day, Peace Action, the National Peace Accord, the Goldstone Commission of Inquiry, the United Nations, the Commonwealth, the Organization of African Unity (OAU), the South African Police (SAP), and Africa Watch. 
Used by permission of Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law.
Collection: Elizabeth S. Landis collection, National Archives of Namibia