ECSA Bulletin

by Episcopal Churchpeople for a Free Southern Africa
with Oscar J. Callender (photographer)
New York, New York, United States
July 25, 1996
12 pages
Type: Newsletter
Coverage outside Africa: United States
Language: English
Contents: PAT BEEMAN • NAMIBIA - BOTSWANA • ECSA 40th anniversary - 1996 • Episcopal Churchpeople for a Free Southern Africa 40th Anniversary - New York - June 12, 1996 • The newsletter reprints newspaper and magazine articles including "Africa Bans the bomb" by Bereng Mtimkulu, "Why does America continue to turn its back on Africa?" by Gwen Lister, "What is MISA?", "… Opening The Pandora's Box …," "Apartheid police say: We bombed military HQ" by David Beresford, "Police still to be charged" by Stefaans Brümmer, "Buthelezi implicated in Malan trial by top IFP lieutenant," "Riddle of De Kock's dead lawyer" by Eddie Kock, "Archbishop-elect Winston Ndungane’s claim to fame is that he helped build the cell on Robben Island that was later home to Nelson Mandela" by Toni Younghusband, and two untitled articles – one by Christopher Bellamy and another from the April 1996 issue of  Inselelo, the newsletter of the Diakonia Council of Churches. The newsletter includes a map of Southern Africa on wildlife conservation, "A pride of parks.".The newsletter discusses the African National Congress (ANC), the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty, the Organization of African Unity (OAU), the African Commission on Nuclear Energy, the World Court in The Hague, Frank Beeman, the Southern African Liberation Committee (SALC) at Michigan State University, the International Court of Justice, the Committee to Protect Journalists, the Media Institute of Southern Africa (MISA), the Cold War, Martin Luther King, Cuban troops, the South West Africa People's Organization (SWAPO), Frelimo, Sergio Vieria, Reverend Ngeno Nakamhela, the Council of Churches in Namibia (CNN), Moses Garoeb, Phil ya Nangoloh, detainees, Breaking the Wall of Silence (BWS), the Democratic Turnhalle Alliance (DTA), Ben Africa, David Smuts, F.W. de Klerk, Archbishop Desmond Tutu, the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC), the South African Defence Force (SADF), the South African Communist Party (SACP), Piet Ntuli, KwaNdebele, police officers, Wagner Muller and Du Plessis, former Minister of Law and Order Adriaan Vlok, Johan Coetzee, Johan van der Merwe, the security police, Lieutenant-General Basie Smit, Nelson Mandela, Muammar Gadafy, Pan Am, Lockerbie, Jan D'Oliveira, Eugene de Kock, Johan Wagener, Khotso House, Jeffrey Sibiya Bophu, Brian Nqulunga, Beki Mlangeni, Jackson Maake, the Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP), Mangosuthu Buthelezi, MZ Khumalo, Gen. Magnus Malan, KwaZulu Police (KZP), the Caprivi Strip, Operation Marion, Brigadier Sipho Mathe, Oliver Tambo, the National Party (NP), the Vlakplaas police, Koos van Niekerk, Mandla Sithole, Zululand, the Pan Africanist Congress (PAC), KwaMashu, and Thabo Mbeki. 
Used by permission of former board members of the Episcopal Churchpeople for a Free Southern Africa.
Collection: Elizabeth S. Landis collection, National Archives of Namibia