ECSA Bulletin

by Episcopal Churchpeople for a Free Southern Africa
New York, New York, United States
October 25, 1996
12 pages
Type: Newsletter
Coverage in Africa: Angola, Namibia, South Africa, Rwanda, Zambia
Coverage outside Africa: United States, Sweden
Language: English
The newsletter reprints these newspaper articles: "S. African Ex-General Admits Bombing Role" and "Ex-Security Agent Pulls Cover Off S. Africa's Past" by Lynne Duke; "Chikane poisoning still unsolved"; "S Africa reels as Malan walks free" by David Beresford; "The maverick, the mole and the ant. Which South African agent killed Sweden's Olof Palme?"; "SA joins call for ban on mines" by Stefaans Brümmer; "These boots are made for protest"; "SA seeks to corner African waste"; "SA military begins preparations for regional peace role"; "Military reveal billion Rands plans"; "SA may supply arms to Rwanda government"; “MARIE WOOLF reports pm mining giant Anglo American’s astute moves to adapt itself to changing times”; "Sepeng at centre of South African race-rigging row" by Julian Drew and David Beresford; "Namibia's Wall of Silence" by Lauren Dobell; and "Day of the assassin promises to thrill" by Eddie Kock. The newsletter mentions Peter W. Botha, the anti-apartheid movement, sabotage, Johan van der Merwe, Truth and Reconciliation Commission, Frederick W. de Klerk, Brigadier Jack Cronje, Vlakplaas, secret police, Archbishop Desmond Tutu, South African Council of Churches (SACC), Frank Chikane, Eugene de Kock, Nelson Mandela, Thabo Mbeki, George Fivaz, the KwaMakutha black township, Victor Ntuli, Magnus Malan, KwaZulu police, Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP), African National Congress (ANC), Durban, M.Z. Khumalo, Justice Jan Hugo, military intelligence, Captain Johan Opperman, Andre Cloete, Chief Mangosuthu Buthelezi, Ziba Jiyane, Alex Boraine, Tim McNally, the "Caprivi 200", Daluxolo Luthuli, UNITA, the Investigation Task Board, Colonel Frank Dutton, War Crimes Tribunal in The Hage, AK47s, Craig Williamson, International University Exchange Fund (IUEF), the Civil Co-Operation Bureau (CCB), Western Europe, Eeben Barlow, Jackie Selebi, anti-personal land mines (APLs), UN Convention of Conventional Weapons, the South African National Defence Force (SANDF), Noel Stott, South African Campaign to Ban Landmines, International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC), UN General Assembly, AJ Rossouw, Basel Convention, hazardous waste, OECD, the Greens, Thor Chemicals, Paul Kagame, Kadar Asmal, Southern African Development Community (SADC), Amnesty International, Pierre Steyn, Michael Spicer, Sir Cecil Rhodes, the Oppenheimer clan, Kimberly diamond fields, De Beers, the Central Selling Organisation, Minorco, Zambia Consolidated Copper Mines (ZCCM), the National Empowerment Consortium, exchange control, Lonrho, Ashanti Goldfields, Sam Jonah, Cyril Ramaphosa, General Mining, Gencor, Afrikaner businessmen, Harry Oppenheimer, First National Bank, Southern Life, Del Monte, the Premier Group, South African Eagle Insurance, Athletics South Africa (ASA), Hezekiel Sepeng, Engen, Bernard Rose, Marius van Heerden, the Continental Olympics, Old Mutual, track and field, Johan Botha, Mthobi Tyamzashe, Department of Sport and Recreation, Barclays, SWAPO, Council of Churches in Namibia (CCN), Eric Biwa, Moses Garoeb, the Rhenisch Mission, Evangelical Lutheran Church in Namibia, Joe Diescho, Colin Leys, John S. Saul, Breaking the Wall of Silence Committee, Andimba Toivo ya Toivo, Rhodesia, National Party, Basie Smit, Philip Powell, CJ Mathetwa, Namibia: The Wall of Silence, Siegfried Groth, Humphrey Ndlovu, COSATU, and Themba Khoza.
Used by permission of former board members of the Episcopal Churchpeople for a Free Southern Africa.
Collection: George M. Houser (Africa collection), Michigan State University Libraries Special Collections