by Canaan Baptist Church
New York, New York, United States
May 22, 2003
11 pages
Type: Program
Coverage in Africa: South Africa
Coverage outside Africa: United States, United Nations
Language: English
Contents: Walter Sisulu - A Brief Biography • PROGRAM • Speakers • Condolence Messages • National Anthem of South Africa • Contributions in Memory of Walter Sisulu • Program for a tribute to Walter Sisulu held a Canaan Baptist Church in New York City. The program says speakers are David Dinkins, Danny Glover, George Houser, Ambassador Dumisani Kumalo, Ms. Cicely Tyson, Elombe Brath, Dr, Mary Louis Patterson, Nomazizi Sokudela, and Ms. Virginia Fields. The program includes condolence messages from Christian Frost, Young Leaders of the World, Edward Moloane, Marilyn Glover, Dubravka Harries, Maggie Hite, Aladdin Pojhan, Ann Fuhrman, Zeg Fanta, Lorna Parris, Jennifer Davis, Evangeline Kim, Stewart Ting Chong, Shared Interest, and Nadine Hack and Jerry Dunphy. Names on the program include Pastor Greg B. Jones, Rev. Dr. Forbes, Rev. Dr. Perry Hopper, Barbara Aires, Iman Izak El Pasha, Rev. Wyatt Tee Walker, Rabbi Michael Feinberg, Dr. Bojana Jordon, and Ms. Thami Ngwevele. The program discusses the African National Congress (ANC), the ANC Youth League, the Federation of Democratic Youth, Romania, the USSR, China, the UK, apartheid, the Rivoinia trial, Robben Island, Nelson Mandela, the Defiance of Unjust Laws Campaign, Albertina Thetiwa Sisulu, the UDF (United Democratic Front), the Omhle Trust, the Twa Twa Trust, the American Committee on Africa (ACOA), the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE), Herb Shore, the Special Committee Against Apartheid, The Africa Fund, U.S. banks and companies doing business with apartheid South Africa, the Harlem YMCA, the Patrice Lumumba Coalition, the Committee of Correspondence for Democracy and Socialism, the ANC Women's League, the South Africa Development Fund, the African Solidarity Committee of WESTPAC (Westchester People's Action Coalition), Donna Katzin, James Ferrari, Diane Steves, Lenora Taitt-Magubane, Denise Pease, Frank Ferrari, Sholeen Mooljee, Avic Tablante, Linda Maso, Lauretta Bruno, and Nkosi sikelel' iAfrica.
Collection: George M. Houser (Africa collection), Michigan State University Libraries Special Collections