by American Committee on Africa, American Friends Service Committee, Connecticut Anti-Apartheid Committee, Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility, TransAfrica, United Methodist Office for the United Nations, Washington Office on Africa
New York City, New York, United States
June 1981
Publisher: American Committee on Africa
2 pages
People listed on the program of the Conference on Public Investment and South Africa include Ambassador B. Akporode Clark, Nigeria, Chairman United Nations Special Committee Against Apartheid; William Booth, Justice, New York State Supreme Court and President, American Committee on Africa; Ruth Messinger, Council member, New York City; Julian Bond, State Senator, Georgia; Perry Bullard, State Representative, Michigan; Christy Hoffman, Chairperson, Connecticut Anti-Apartheid Committee; John Harrington, California Governor's Task Force on Public Investment and Political Coordinator, Service Employees International Union (SEIU); James Farmer, Executive Director, Coalition of American Public Employees; William Lucy, Secretary-Treasurer American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (AFSCME) and National President, Coalition of Black Trade Unionists (CBTU); Robert Schwartz, Vice-President Shearon Loeb Rhodes Inc.; Albert Vann, New York State Representative; Jerry Herman, Director, Southern Africa Program, American Friends Service Committee (AFSC); Beata Klein, author, US Bank Loans to South Africa; Edgar Lockwood, Director, Washington Office on Africa (WOA) Education Fund; Peggy Buchanan, Connecticut Anti-Apartheid Committee; Jack Backman, Massachusetts State Senator; Jean Sindab, Executive Director, Washington Office on Africa; Timothy Smith, Executive Director, Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR); Gail Morlan, Research Director, American Committee on Africa; Meg Skinner, Southern Africa Program, Wisconsin AFSC; Albert Price, Texas State Representative; Dumisani Kumalo, Field Representative, American Committee on Africa; Carole Collins, Coordinator, Campaign to Oppose Bank Loans to South Africa (COBLSA); Mark Harrison, Human Rights Coordinator, Clergy and Laity Concerned (CALC); Chris Root, Associate Director, Washington Office on Africa; Allan Spear, Minnesota State Senator; Virgil Smith, Michigan State Representative; Randy Barber, Director, Pension Investment and Control Issues; James Mayes, Conference on Alternative State and Local Policies; Jack Kittridge, Massachusetts Community Action; Marcia Coggs, Wisconsin State Representative; William Bowen, Ohio State Senator; Ann Beaudry, Program Director, National Center for Economic Alternatives; James Madison, National Director for Political Action, NAACP; Joe Neal, Nevada State Senator; William Dyson, Connecticut State Representative; William Schweke, Conference on Alternative State and Local Policies, Roger Walke, People for Southern Africa Freedom, Oregon; Kim Zalent, Lutheran Coalition on South Africa; and Randall Robinson, Executive Director, TransAfrica. Workshops in the program include "The Current Situation on South Africa,” "The Role of Banks and Corporations in South Africa,” "The Sullivan Principles,” "A case for economic withdrawal,” "Preparing and Introducing Legislation,” "Socially Responsible Investment,” and "Organizing Support for Alternative Investment Legislation."
Used by permission of Africa Action (successor to the American Committee on Africa) and other organizations that sponsored the conference.
Collection: John Harrington’s South Africa Papers, Michigan State University Libraries Special Collections