Observations from Namibia

(No. 21)
by Ralston Deffenbaugh, Lutheran Office for World Community
New York, New York, United States
March 29, 1990
Publisher: Lutheran Office for World Community
8 pages
Contents: INDEPENDENCE • THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY • THE CHIEF JUSTICE • THE CABINET • PRESIDENTIAL ADDRESS • RELIGIOUS OBSERVANCES • OTHER EVENTS • REHOBOTH AND WALVIS BAY • VISIT TO OVAMBOLAND • PRISONERS • THE NAMIBIAN ARMY • THE NAMIBIAN POLICE • THE LUBOWSKI CASE • FAREWELLS • Memorandum faxed from Namibia to Lutheran World Federation (Geneva), which distributed it in Europe, and the Lutheran Office for World Community (New York), which distributed it in the U.S. The memorandum says Namibia is free; a few minutes after midnight, early in the morning of Wednesday, March 21, the South African flag was lowered; the new Namibian flag, blue, gold, red, white, and green, was raised in its place; thus ended 75 years of South African occupation and over a century of foreign rule. The memorandum says among the visitors were united Nation3 Secretary-General Javier Perez de Cuellar; South African State President F. W. de Klerk and Foreign Minister R. F. Botha; Presidents Hosni Mubarak of Egypt, Kenneth Kaunda of Zambia, Eduardo dos Santos of Angola, Quett Masire of Botswana, Joachim Chissano of Mozambique, Ali Hassan Mwinyi of Tanzania, and Yasser Arafat of the Palestine Liberation Organization; prime Minister V. P. Singh of India; and foreign ministers James Baker of the U.S.A., Edvard Shevardnadze of the USSR, Douglas Hurd of the U.K., and Hans-Dietrich Genscher of the Federal Republic of Germany. The memorandum discusses Sam Nujoma, SWAPO, the African National Congress (ANC), Nelson Mandela, Haqe Geingob, Theo-Ben Gurirab, Winnie Mandela, Thabo Mbeki, Joe Slovo, Windhoek Athletic stadium, ACN, W.O. Aston, Helmut Angula, Otto Herrigel, Netumbo Ndaitwah, Daniel Tjongarero, Gerhard Hanekom, Nangolo Iithete, Philemon Malima, the National Assembly, the National Council, Klaus Dierks, Mose Tjitendero, Hans Berker, the Supreme Court, Judge G.J.C. Strydom, Attorney-General H.F.E. Ruppel, Advocate T. J. Frank, Attorney W. H. Dicks, Hifikepunya Pohamba, Peter Mueshihange, Hendrik Witbooi, Andimba Toivo ya Toivo, Hidipo Hamutenya, Nahas Angula, Richard Kapelwa, Nico Bessinger, Ngarikutuke Tjiriange, Nicky Iyambo, Ben Amathila, Libertine Amathila, Marco Hausiku, Otto Herrigel, Gerhard Hanekom, unemployment, the Council of Churches in Namibia (CCN), Roman Catholic Bishop Bonifatius Hausiku, Peter Sandner, Lutheran World Federation, Gunnar Staalsett, World Council of Churches President Nita Barrow, Anglican Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Jesse Jackson, the South African Council of Churches General (SACC), Frank Chikane, Lutheran Bishop Hendrik Frederik, the Council of Churches in Namibia (CCN), Hans Diergaardt, the DTA (Democratic Turnhalle Alliance), Casspir armored vehicles, UNITA, Windhoek Prison, Resolution 435, Paulus Kapumburu, Paulus Andreas, Afunda Nghiyolwa, Simon Abed, Carl Norgaard, political prisoners, Leonard Sheehama, PLAN (Peoples Liberation Army of Namibia), SWATF (South West Africa Territorial Force), UNTAG (United Nations Transitional Assistance Group), Justice L. Harms, the Harms Commission, Anton Lubowski, the Military Intelligence Division of the South African Defence Force (SADF), Donald Acheson, Calla Botha, the Civil cooperation Bureau, Administrator-General of South West Africa Louis Pienaar, the United Nations Special Representative Martti Ahtisaari, Leqwaila Joseph Legwaila, Prem Chand, the UN Commissioner for Namibia, Bishop Kleopas Dumeni , and Bishop Hendrik Frederik.
Used by permission of Ralston Deffenbaugh.
Collection: Private collection of David Wiley and Christine Root