ECSA Bulletin

by Episcopal Churchmen for South Africa
New York, New York, United States
June 12, 1985
10 pages
Contents: NAMIBIA • Statement by the COUNCIL OF CHURCHES IN NAMIBIA • SENATE VOTES TO REPEAL CLARK AMENDMENT • ECC • A MESSAGE FROM ECSA • The Pretoria regime plans to launch its “interim government” in Namibia on June 17, 1985. Teachers are instructed to have their students ready to be bussed to the inauguration site. South African State President P.W. Botha is said to be coming to Windhoek for the ceremonies. Among expected visitors are Jonas Savimbi of the UNITA group fighting the government of the People's Republic of Angola, Bantustan leaders from South Africa, and parliamentary representatives from West Europe and the U.S. The mailing includes Statement by the COUNCIL OF CHURCHES IN NAMIBIA [CCN] from the Namibia Communications Centre in London and a statement by the End Conscription Campaign (ECC). The ECC was launched in 1982 after Black Sash called for an end to compulsory conscription. The ECC demands are that SADF troops be withdrawn from the townships and from Namibia; that young men be able to choose not to be part of this army; that there be a just peace in South Africa. The ECC will hold a PEACE FESTIVAL at the University of the Witwatersrand on June 28-30, 1985. The newsletter reprints these newspaper articles: "Mourners dig up PE bodies" by Mono Badela, "4 REBEL UNITS SIGN ANTI-SOVIET PACT" and "Angolan Rebel Rejects Partial Cuban Withdrawal" by Alan Cowell, "Wounded S. African Blacks Facing Arrest at Hospitals" by Allister Sparks, "Whites flee Pretoria’s call-up" by Eric Marsden, and "Angry scenes, arrests as treason trial starts." The newsletter mentions Multi-Party Conference (MPC), the South African Administrator-General, South West African Police Force, Assistant Secretary of State for African Affairs Chester A. Crocker, United Nations Security Council resolution 435, the Reagan administration, Federal Republic of Germany Bundestag members, SWAPO, The Rev. Dr. Abisai Shejavali, Security Council Resolution 385 (1976), the U.N. Transitional Assistance Group (UNTAG), Security Council Resolution 431 (1978), SADF (South African Defence Force), Soweto, Sharpeville, Thembisa, Daveytown, Biopatong; Sebokend, Fingo Village, Langa, Alexandra, Dr. Mandikat Juta, Gavin Blackburn, National Medical and Dental Association of South Africa (Namsa), the Kannemeyer Commission, Kwanobuhle the township, the Zwide cemetery, unrest victims, Elsie Mantle, the United Democratic Front (UDF), Cuban soldiers, the State Department Authorization Bill, Lewis E. Lehrman, anti-Soviet groups, Dr. Gerry Coovadia, the South African Communist Party (SACP), South African Allied Workers Union, the Progressive Federal Party (PFP), Afrikaners, Judge Donald Kannerneyer, and South African Police (SAP).
Used by permission of former board members of the Episcopal Churchpeople for a Free Southern Africa.
Collection: Private collection of David Wiley and Christine Root