ECSA Bulletin

by Episcopal Churchpeople for a Free Southern Africa
New York, New York, United States
November 20, 1993
12 pages
Type: Newsletter
Coverage in Africa: Angola, South Africa
Coverage outside Africa: United States, United Kingdom, United Nations
Language: English
The newsletter includes the address by Nelson R. Mandela to the plenary session of the Multi Party negotiations process held at the World Trade Centre, Kempton Park, Johannesburg, on 17 November 1993. The newsletter reprints newspaper articles including: "South Africa set for uhuru" by David Beresford, "Historic bargain for 'stalemate'" by John Carlin, "Five years to build for the future", "Language deals create new Babel", "Women prepare for power in new state", "Inkatha vows to destroy constitution" by David Beresford, "David Beresford outlines the interim constitution", "S. African Farmers Take Up Arms" by John Battersby, "Retarded recruits trained as special combat unit" by Jan Taljaard, "Ciskei chief tried for murder", "Viljoen calls up fear of war" by John Carlin, "Top police officers seeks to combat spreading disaffection in the ranks", "No easy answers for SA's dispossessed" by David Beresford, "Boer MP on great trek back to where he began" by John Carlin, "Apartheid whites shelter under black right wing", "Vaccine won't ward off the killing" by Victoria Brittain, "Angolan toll may be up to 35,000" by David Orr, and "Angola sees death of heroism" by Cindy Shiner. The newsletter includes The Independent Forum for Electoral Education that includes information on IFEE objectives, regional for a, commissions, media, voter education, monitoring and membership. The newsletter discusses religion, diversity, language, culture, color, class, ethnicity, civil war, tolerance, the ANC (African National Congress), Cyril Ramaphosa, Albie Sachs, President F.W. de Klerk, Kadar Asmal, the National Party, April 27, the liberation movement, a Bill of Rights, the Democratic Party, right-wing leader Constance Viljoen, Bophuthatswana, Transkei, Venda, Chief Mangosuthu Buthelezi, KwaZulu, homelands, Lucas Mangope, democratic elections, the coalition government of national unity, the South African Defence Force (SADF), General George Meiring, the National Assembly, the Senate, Parliament, a Transitional Executive Council, English, Zulu, Xhosa, Sotho, the Soweto uprising of 1976, Afrikaans, traditional African leaders, Thabo Mbeki, the Afrikaner Volksfront, Koos van Rensburg, Ziba Jiyane, the Constitutional Assembly, the judiciary, provincial government, local government, restitution of land, public service, special pensions, the Conservative Party, Chris Hani, Afrikaner Weerstandsbeweging (AWB), the South African Communist Party (SACP), William Whitlock, Commandant Rocco Gouws, the Citizens Force, Graaff-Reinet. Brig. Gen. Bill Sass, the Institute for Defense Politics, Umkhonto we Sizwe (Spear of the Nation), firearms, Tokyo Sexwale, the Boereweerstandsbeweging (BWB), Israel Vision, Dawie Jacobs, Alec Paatzm Gaye Derby-Lewis, self-defense, Boere Weerstand, Wit Wolf Barend Strydom, Oupa Gqozo, Dup de Bruyn, Charles Sebe, the South African Police (SAP), Law and Order Minister Hernus Kriel, the Police and Prisons Civil Rights Union (POPCRU), Monwabisi Moto, Orlando Stadium, APLA, the Pan-Africanist Congress (ANC), Winnie Mandela, Craig Kotze, the South African National Civics Organistion, the Internal Stability Unit, townships, the Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP), Maj-Gen George Fivaz, Lt-Gen Andre Pruis, Johan van der Merwe, Basie Smit, J. Swart, the McCroath Commission, resettlement, District Six, Anglo American Corporation, Julian Ogilivie Thompson, the Urban Foundation, the Afrikaner Resistance Movement, Eugene TerreBlanche, UNITA, the CIA, Jonas Savimbi, Mario Soares, King Hassan, Boutrous Ghali, Cuitto, the United Nations Food Programme, Elizabette Theodoro, Joao Batista, the Angolan army, Joao Bondo, Save the Children Fund, Peter Hawkans, Dr. Verwoerd, P.W. Botha, Brendan Willmer, the Save Rhodesia Campaign, the Save South Africa Society, South Africa First, and the Civic Action League.
Used by permission of former board members of the Episcopal Churchpeople for a Free Southern Africa.
Collection: Private collection of David Wiley and Christine Root