Divestment Action by State and Local Authorities

Notes and Documents
by American Committee on Africa
New York, New York, United States
September 1986
Publisher: United Nations Centre Against Apartheid
16 pages
Since 1976, 15 U.S. states, 46 cities, five counties, and one Territory have enacted binding measures restricting public fund investment and/or purchasing related to South Africa. These measures affect approximately $5 billion in divestment from U.S. corporations and banks. Contents: I. Binding Measures By State And Local Authorities on Divestment of Public Funds • A. State authorities • B. Local authorities • II. Divestment Actions on South Africa by Colleges and Universities in the United States of America and Canada and by United States Student Bodies as at February 1986 • A. United States • B. Canada • C. Student actions • Notes
Collection: Private collection of Joshua Nessen