Southern Africa

(Volume 7, Number 2)
by Southern Africa Network-ELCA
with Joan Gerig (editor), Carol Thompson (layout), Frederick J. Gaiser, Angela Shannon, Cyril Lombard, Annette Gabriel
Chicago, Illinois, United States
March-April 1997
12 pages
Type: Newsletter
Coverage outside Africa: United States, United Nations
Language: English
Contents: The Gift of Africa • FIRST PERSON ACCOUNT • COMPANION SYNODS • Metropolitan Washington DC Synod—Namibia ELCIN and ELCRN • Metropolitan Chicago Synod-Central Diocese ELCSA • Companion Synods of the ELCA and Churches in Southern Africa • Sister Seminary Relationship Established • ADVOCACY • It's Resolution Time! • Lest we Grow Weary • Letter Writing • Inspiration • Women strike oil, but no riches yet • Leading the Bondelswarts • SOUTHERN AFRICA NEWS BRIEFS • Human Rights in Africa • Gay Bashing in Namibia • Strike in Swaziland • Woman Chief Rocks Zim Tradition • Slow Progress in Angola • AIDS Care in Lesotho • Peace Prize Renamed • Zim Fundamentalists Instigate Boycott • Land for Landless in Namibia • Robben Island Plans • CALENDAR OF ACTION AND REFLECTION • SAN will be an active participant in the 1997 Global Mission Events (GME) • Pray for the Umphumulo Seminary Community in South Africa • STAY CONNTECTED! • NETWORK NOTES • Volunteer Work Opportunities • The newsletter includes a reproduction of "Crucifixion" by Namibian Artist John Muafangejo. The newsletter includes excerpts of letters from Ruth Jorenby from Wisconsin and Carl Jakobsson from Washington. The newsletter includes a poem by Mama Dora Tamana. The newsletter discusses Bernard Takawira, the Conference of International Black Lutherans (CIBL), the Great Zimbabwe National Monument, Pastor Nikann Shvukwanyama, the Metro DC Synod, Pastor Linn Opderbecke, St. Andrew Lutheran Church, the Synod Namibia Task Force, Bishop Buthelezi, Lutheran Theological Seminary at Philadelphia (LTSP), Dean James Kenneth Echols, Professor Richard N. Stewart, Ms. Dawn Stewart, the Evangelical Lutheran Church in South Africa, landmines, President William J. Clinton, the UN Conference on Disarmament, the Department of Women Affairs, De Beers, the Rural Development Centre (RDC), Sclerocarya birrea, the Trial Marula Oil Production Project, Anna Katrina Christiaan, Pastor Hendrik Witbooi, SWAPO, the State Department, the Report on Human Rights Practices, the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, detainees, President Nujoma, the Swaziland Federation of Trade Unions (SFTU), King Mswati III, COSATU, Swazi Foreign Minister Arthur Khoza, Alfred Nzo, Sinqobile Mabhena, the UN Security Council, MPLA, UNITA, Jonas Savimbi, Freedom Front leader General Constand Viljoen, the National AIDS Control Program of the Lesotho Ministry of Health, All Africa Conference of Churches (AACC), Anglican Archbishop Dinis Segulane, Archbishop Jaime Pedro Goncalves, Pendukeni Ithana, the Agricultural Land Reform Act of 1995, Chris Rupy, Rev. Sue Larson, the 4th International NGO Conference on Landmines in Maputo, Women of the ELCA, the Council of Churches in Namibia (CCN), Division for Global Mission, Division for Church and Society, Vivian West, Rev. Joe Barndt, Bethel Lutheran Church, June Kjome, the Judge Peter Pappas Award for Outstanding Community Advocacy, the Center for Global Education, Visions in Action, and The AACC Desmond Tutu Peace Prize.
Used by permission of former members of the Southern Africa Network-ELCA.
Collection: Solveig Kjeseth Southern Africa Collection, Michigan State University Libraries Special Collections