by Episcopal Churchpeople for a Free Southern Africa
with Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law, Namibia Communications Centre, Council of Churches in Namibia, United Nations Security Council
New York, New York, United States
January 1989
16 pages
Contents: NAMIBIA-Formula for Independence? • Security Council Resolution 435 • TO: UN SECRETARY GENERAL AND MEMBERS OF THE SECURITY COUNCIL • TO: THE SECRETARY GENERAL OF THE UNITED NATIONS • RESOLUTION 435 (1978) • The lead article reports that the United Nations Security Council has set April 1, 1989 as the date for the start of implementation of Resolution 435.The pamphlet discusses challenges facing the UN; Pretoria remains in charge of Namibia and will conduct the elections while the United Nations Transitional Assistance Group tries to ensure the elections are free and fair. The pamphlet discusses the five permanent members of the Security Council (the United States, the Soviet Union, Britain, France and China) and the Non-Aligned Movement. It also discusses the Council of Churches in Namibia, the South West African Territorial Force, the South West African Police, UNITA, and SWAPO (South West Africa People's Organization). The pamphlet includes a report on Security Council Resolution 435 by the Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law with sections on: I. What Is Resolution 435?; II. Resolution 385: Forerunner to Resolution 435; III. Basic Premises of Resolution 435; IV. Walvis Bay; V. United Nations Special Representative; VI. UNTAG; VII. Cease-Fire; VIII. Administration Of Namibia Under Resolution 435; IX. Electoral Process: General; X. Electoral Process: Specific Provisions; XI. Registration; XII. Police Force; XIII. Constituent Assembly; XIC. Subsequent Chances In Resolution 435? The pamphlet also includes a telex from the Namibia Communications Centre with a statement by The Rt. Rev. Hendrik Frederik (President, Council of Churches in Namibia, Bishop of the Evangelical Lutheran Church), Dr. Abusai Shejavali (General Secretary, CNN), The Rt. Rev. James Kauluma (Anglican Diocese of Namibia), The Rt. Rev. James Prinz (Methodist Church), The Rt. Rev. Peter Lamoela (United Congregational Church), The Rt. Rev. Kleopas Dumeni (Evangelical Lutheran Church in Namibia), The Rt. Rev. Bonifatius Haushiku (Roman Catholic Church), and The Rev. Bartolomeus Karuaera (African Methodist Episcopal Church). The pamphlet includes a copy of a memorandum to the UN Secretary-General from an emergency meeting of the Executive Committee of the Council of Churches in Namibia (CNN). The pamphlet includes RESOLUTION 435 (1978) Adopted by the Security Council on September 29, 1978.
Used by permission of former board members of the Episcopal Churchpeople for a Free Southern Africa.
Collection: Private collection of David Wiley and Christine Root