Africa Legal Assistance Project INTERIM REPORT

by Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law
Washington, DC, United States
December 1, 1974
55 pages
Report on the work of the Africa Legal Assistance Project of the Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law from April 1, 1973 to December 1, 1974. The report says the Project has been called upon often to provide legal assistance to black political leaders and other opponents of apartheid in South Africa and Namibia who have been detained incommunicado or arrested under one of the many repressive statutes. The report says that many Namibians fled to neighboring Angola. The report discusses the activity of Africa Project Director Douglas P. Wacholz; Joel Carlson; 37 Namibians against charges under South Africa's notorious Terrorism Act; the American Bar Association (ABA); George N. Lindsay of Debevoise, Plimpton, Lyons and Gates, New York, N. Y.; Goler Teal Butcher of White, Fine & Ambrogne, Washington, D. C.; Theodore C. Sorensen of Paul, Weiss, Rifkin, Wharton and Garrison, New York, N. Y.; Ramsey Clark of the New York bar; James M. Nabrit, III of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People Legal Defense & Education Fund, Inc., New York, School, Washington, D. C.; Peter J. Connell, Washington, D. C., Counsel for the Aetna Life Insurance Company; the rule of law in white-ruled Africa; the U. S. Department of State, members of the U. S. Congress; the South African Police; The State v. Keshi Nathaniel and Others; prison; emergency regulations; Keshi Nathaniel; Johannes Nangutuuala; Andreas Nuukwawo; Proclomation R. 17/1972; the Anglican Archdeacon of Odibo, the Venerable Philip Shilongo; St. Mary's Mission; the Anglican Archdeacon of Owambo, the Venerable Lazarus Haukongo; the International Court of Justice in its Advisory Opinion of June 21, 1971 concerning the status of Namibia; Lutheran Bishop Leonard Auala; Anglican Bishop Suffragen Richard Wood; the South West Africa Peoples Organization (SWAPO); Thomas Komati; the Supreme Court for South West Africa; the Appellate Division in Bloemfontein; the black township outside Windhoek (Katatura); the SWAPO youth League; detainees; David Meroro; H. J. van Biljon & Co.; the Honorable Sean McBride, the U. N. Commissioner for Namibia; the Subcommittee on Africa of the House of Representatives Foreign Affairs Committee; Congressman Charles C. Diggs, Jr.; Lutheran Council of the U. S. A.; the United States Information Agency; Ezriel Taapopi; Joseph Kashea; Sam Nujoma; Professor Cedric Thornberry of the London School of Economics; banned literature; Tim Owen; Advocate David Soggot; bantustan authorities; Dr. Diogenes Boavida; political asylum; Dr. Mario Soares, the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Portugal; Dr. Francisco Pinto Balsemao, Director of the leading Portuguese newsweekly Expresso; Dr. Almeida Santos, Portuguese Minister for Inter-territorial Coordination; the Nobel Peace Prize; Dr. Beyers Naude; Reverend Theo Kotze; Dr. Manas Buthulezi; Attorney Raymond Tucker of South Africa; Bishop Colin O'Brien; Advocate Brian O'Linn; Chief Clemens Kapuuo; Theo Ben Gurirab; Peter Katjavivi; Bishop Lucas deVries of Namibia; attorney and Member of Parliament Godfrey Chidyawsiku; M. P. Ronnie Sadomba; Bishop Donald Lamont; Attorneys Anthony Eastwood and Chris Bishop of Zimbabwe (Southern Rhodesia); Dr. Diogenes Boavida of Angola; Attorney Jose Adriao Rodriquez of Mozambique; the South African Students Organization (SASO); the National Union of South African Students (NUSAS); the Christian Institute; the Institute of Race Relations; Dot Cleminshaw; David Dallas, of the firm Fuller, Moore and Son of Cape Town; Peter Randall; Rev. Danie van Zyl; Ravan Press; the Suppression of Communism Act; Paul Pretorius; Dean Monrad Paulsen of the School of Law of the University of Virginia; Professor Luvern Rieke of the University of Washington Law School; Professor Barend van Niekerk; apartheid; the New York Times v. Sullivan; Professors Harry Kalven, Tom Emerson and Herbert Wechsler; Harvard Law School Professors Abram Chayes and Derek Bell; Margaret Marshall; American Professor Lawrence Church; Prime Minister Vorster; former Prime Minister Verwoerd; Gordon Young; Stanley Kawalsky; the Western Province Workers' Advice Bureau; NUSWEL; the Minister of Justice; the Affected Organizations Act; Halton Cheadle; the Textile Workers Industrial Union; Consolidated Textile Mill; the Riotous Assemblies Act; the Industrial Conciliation Act; the Bantu Administration Act; the Bantu Labour (Settlement of Disputes) Act; strikes in Durban; the University of Natal; Justice Poswa; D. Venkatrathnam (Naidoo); the U.S. Catholic Conference; David Dallas; Neville Alexander; Michael Richman; the Suppression of Communism Act; BPC (Black Peoples Convention); the black consciousness movement; pro-Frelimo rallies; Sidney Kentridge; Reginald Ngcobo; Erhard Fick; Diogenes Boavida; Godfrey Chidyawsiku; Anthony Eastwood; Chris Bishop; Jose Adriao Rodriquez; International Commission of Jurists; the International League for the Rights of Man; Amnesty International; Bishop Donal Lamont, the Catholic Bishop of Umtali in Rhodesia; Anthony Eastwood and Tim Tanser of the Scanlan and Holderness firm in Salisbury; Chris Bishop of the firm Gollop and Blank; the Rhodesian Bar Association; the United Nations Commission on Human Rights; the New York City Human Rights Commission; African Heritage Studies Association; One Hundred Black Men, Inc.; Judge William H. Booth; New York Human Rights Law; Peter Weiss, Center for Constitutional Rights, New York, N. Y.; Michael Davis, Rogers Hoge & Hill, New York, N. Y.; and Elizabeth Landis, New York attorney formerly with the U. N. Council for Namibia; the New York Supreme Court; the Congressional Black Caucus; the Civil Aeronautics Board; South African Airways; Rod Boggs; Vaughan Williams; Charles C. Diggs, Jr.; U.S. companies investing in Namibia; the Treasury Department; U. S. Senator Walter Mondale; the Internal Revenue Code; the Foreign Trade Bill; the United Mine Workers; Center for Social Action of the United Church of Christ; Episcopal Churchmen for South Africa; U. S. National Council of Churches; U. S.A. Committee of the Lutheran World Federation; the Washington Office on Africa; Donald B. Easum, Assistant Secretary of State for African Affairs; George Houser; Namibian sealskins; Senator Edward Kennedy; Caetano regime; Azevedo Pinheiro; Mendes Pereira; the FBI, the INS; David Carliner; David Carliner; the American Civil Liberties Union; and the International NGO Conference Against Apartheid and Colonialism in Africa. • Direct Legal Assistance in Southern Africa • Public Floggings and Repression in Ovamboland • Mass Arrests • Namibian Refugees in Angola • Schlebusch Commission Contempt Trials • The State v. Naude, Randall and van Zyl • PeIser v. van Niekerk and the Sunday Times • Buthulezi v. To The Point • Cases Involving Black Economic Rights • The State v. Gladman Ndebele • The State v. Sathasivan Cooper and Others, and The State v. Musa Ephraim Mdlalose and Others • Western Deep Levels Mine Protests • Robben Island Prisoners Case • Riemvasmaak Removal • Alexander v. The Minister of Justice • SASO & BPC Detentions • Domestic Legal Action • American Committee on Africa v. The New York Times • Diggs, et al. v. CAB • Namibia Tax Credits • Prohibition of Imports of South African Coal • Diggs v. Dent • South African Sugar Quota • Maryland National Bank Matter • Fairfax County Human Rights Ordinance • Jose M. Azevedo Pinheiro and Rui Mendes Pereira • Visa and Immigration Matters • Human Rights Considerations in the Foreign Policy Decision Process • Education and Involvement of Lawyers • Conclusion
Used by permission of Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law.
Collection: Douglas Wachholz collection on the Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law Africa Project, Michigan State University Libraries Special Collections