by Ad Hoc Committee on South West Africa, Mary Benson (Secretary)
New York, New York, United States
About the second half of December 1950
4 pages
Type: Meeting Minutes
Coverage in Africa: Namibia, South Africa, Botswana
Coverage outside Africa: United States
Language: English
The minutes list organizations represented on the ad hoc committee: Fellowship of Reconciliation, by A. J. Muste; International League for the Rights of Man, by Dr. Max Beer; the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, by Walter White; and the Post-War World Council, by Norman Thomas. Reverend Michael Scott of South Africa is a Guest of Honor, and Mary Benson took minutes. Scott described the resolutions passed by the General Assembly concerning South West Africa and pointed out that the South African Government must submit reports on the administration of the territory. Also, the inhabitants have the right of petition ensured to them over the interim period when negotiations will take place between the Union of South Africa and a commission of five. After expenses had been paid, there would be approximately $1,500 remaining in the fund. Scott suggested this be kept in trust in America by the Episcopal Church, to be used in the event of any African chiefs coming to the U.S. or U.N., or for a bursary for a Herero at an American university for agricultural training. Support was expressed for these uses of the funds. The possibility of inviting Hereros from Bechuanaland, if their fellow tribesmen from South West Africa were refused permission, was discussed. Scott felt the immediate problem was to find a means to sustain interest in African problems in the U.S. People present at one of two meetings on this subject or who have expressed an interest include Dalton McClelland, Mr. and Mrs. Elinor Jackson, Agatha Harrison, Mrs. John Collier, A.A. Berle, Jr., Bobbie Branch, Dr. Gertrude C. Bussey, Clarence E. Pickett, Marian Potter, Gladys Walser, Russell E. Dill, Cynthia Cannon, Winifred F. Courtney, Dorothy Detzer, Mary A. Dingman, L. Eloeseer, Charles Fisk, Mrs. C. Beresford Fox, Albert K. Herling, John Judkyn, Julius Kiano, Mr. and. Mrs. Dave Marlowe, Pauli Murray, Elizabeth Ogg, Walter P. Offut, Jr., John Pearmain, Sartell Prentice, Jr., Betsy Graves Reyneau, Bayard Rustin, Mr. and Mrs. Walter White, an Maida Springer. Herling emphasized the importance of reaching people in South Africa, both to obtain first-hand information and to give encouragement to liberals there. Mr. White suggested that the ad hoc committee be formally authorized, which was agreed to. The minutes mention a preliminary meeting at Quaker House, the Permanent Mandates Commission, Dr. Van Kirk, the National Council of Churches in the United States, Howard College, and Trade Union and Women's organizations.
Collection: Winifred Courtney Collection, National Archives of Namibia