by A.J. Muste, Jayaprakash Narayan, Michael Scott, World Peace Brigade
New York, New York, United States
May 1962
8 pages
Contents: Recent Developments • Direct Action • Training Center • Personnel • The report says at the Brumana Conference which established the World Peace Brigade for Nonviolent Action on 1 January 1962, great concern was expressed about the struggle for political and economic freedom in Central and South Africa, and at the bearing of these developments on world peace. The report says it was agreed that an exploration of the possible application on nonviolent methods to this situation should be one of the first activities of the World Peace Brigade. The report says pursuant to this decision Sidharaj Daddha, one of the Indian delegates to the Brigade conference, made a number of contacts on a trip through Africa with individuals and groups, including Kenneth Kaunda, head of UNIP (United National Independence Party of Norther Rhodesia) and Julius Nyerere of Tanganyika. The report says early in February Michael Scott, Bill Sutherland and Bayard Rustin also went to Africa on behalf of the Brigade. The report says all four attended the Addis Ababa conference of PAFNECA (now Pan African Freedom Movement for East, Central and Southern Africa) on 2nd-10th February 1962. The report says they found among many delegates a disposition to advocate a resort to violence, growing out of frustration over the postponement of independence, the seeming failure of nonviolence to cope with the apartheid regime in South Africa, and bitterness over the terrorism practiced by vested political and economic interests in many parts of Africa. The report says they were made aware of projects for training refugees from various countries in sabotage and guerilla warfare.  The report says the struggle in relation to the Rhodesias is currently perhaps the decisive one in Africa, and upon its outcome may well depend the future of all eastern, central and southern Africa, and indeed the entire continent. The report discusses a training center in nonviolence, Gandhian ideas, Dar es Salaam, mineral deposits, TANU (Tanganyika African National Union), Randhi Thaker, Swahili, Sir Roy Welensky, a rally at Mbeya, Sarva Seva Sangh, Prime Minster Kawawa, Mununka, M. Koinango, Makasa, mass noncooperation, Asia, India, Great Britain, Germany, Italy, Norway, France, Holland, Denmark, Sweden, Israel, Abbe Pierre, Danilo Dolci. Martin Niemuller, Albert Bigelow, James Farmer, Norman Hill, James Baldwin, John Stonehouse, Fenner Brockway, André Trocmé, Patrick Duncan, Alan Payton, Guy Clutton-Brock, an election, Suresh Ram, the Indiana community, Kivukomi College, J.P. Narayan, cabinet ministers, and the movement for independence. [Note: AFA is presumably Africa Freedom Action.]
Collection: Winifred Courtney Collection, National Archives of Namibia