ACAS Bulletin

Debating Oil Development in Africa
(No. 64)
by Association of Concerned Africa Scholars
with Meredeth Turshen, Richard Knight, Daniel Volman, Okecbukwu Ibeanu, Jemera Rone, ACERAC: The Association of Episcopal Conferences of the Central African Region, Carol Thompson
Winter 2002/2003
62 pages
Contents: Introduction to the African Oil Development Debates • Expanding Petroleum Production in Africa • Oil, Arms, and Violence in Africa • (Sp)oils of Politics: Petroleum, Politics, and the Illusion of Development in the Niger Delta, Nigeria • Sudan: Oil and War • The Church and Poverty in Central Africa: The Case of Oil • U.S. Militarization of Africa • A CAS Resolution Against the War with Iraq • "On the Edge" Series • Students Engage in Policy Analysis! U.S. Trade and Development Act for Africa • ACAS Membership Form. The newsletter discusses the Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC), the Kyoto Protocol, greenhouse gasses, the National Energy Policy Development Group, the Institute for Advanced Strategic and Political Studies (IASPS), ExxonMobil, the Bush Administration, Walter Kansteiner, Representative Edward Royce, Representative William Jefferson, the House Subcommittee on Africa, the African Trade and Investment Caucus, Lt. Col. Karen Kwiatkowski, Ian Gary, the Gulf of Guinea, Texaco, Andarko, Burlington Resources, Devon Energy, Kerr-McGee, Occidental Petroleum, UNOCAL, Marathon Oil Corporation, Claire S. Farley, Baker Hughes, Women in Oil and Energy South Africa (WOESA), Pinky Moabi, ChevronTexaco, TotalFinaElf, Hans Corell, Polisario, the African Union (AU), Fusion Oil, West African Gas Pipeline, liquefied natural gas (LNG), Bonny Island, Sasol Ltd., the U.S. Corporate Council on Africa, Jonas Savimbi, UNITA, MPLA, Global Witness, SPLA, Pascal Lissouba, General Denis Sassou-Nquesso, Occidental Petroleum, Transparency International, General Sani Abacha, President Obasanjo, Nigerian Bitumen Corporation, Shell D'Archy, Shell-BP, British Petroleum, General Yakubu Gowon, the Ogoni, the Efik, the National Congress of Nigerian Citizens (NCNC), the Nigeria National Oil Company (NNOC), Elf, AGIP, ESSO (UNIPETROL), the Nigeria National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC), the Nigeria Liquefied Natural Gas (NLNG), the Niger River Delta, the Bight of Biafra, Chevron-Texaco, the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC), Oil Minerals Producing Areas Development Commission (OMPADEC), poverty, Earth Action, Ogoniland, Chief Augustine Anthony, Ijaw National Council, the Movement for the Survival of Ijaw Ethnic Nationality (MOSIEN), Bayelsa State, the Niger Delta River Basin Development Authority, the Sudanese People's Liberation Movement/Army (SPLM/A), Chevron, China National Petroleum Company (CNPC), Petronas, Sudapet Limited, the Greater Nile Petroleum Operating Corporation (GNPOC), Arakis, Talisman Energy Inc., Riek Machar Teny Dhurgon, the Dinka, the Nuer, the Khartoum Peace Agreement, President William Clinton, U.S. Senator John Danforth, al Qaeda leader Osama bin Laden, Inter-Governmental Authority on Development (IGAD), the South Sudan Defense Forces (SSDF), President George W. Bush, the Trade and Development Act for Africa, the African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA), the Free Trade Act for the Americas (FTAA), President Bouteflika, the OAU (Organization of African Unity), Congress, GATT, WTO (World Trade Organization), the Washington Office on Africa (WOA), the Africa Faith and Justice Network (AFJN), Leon Spencer, and Larry Goodwin.
Used by permission of several co-chairs of the Association of Concerned Africa Scholars.
Collection: Association of Concerned Africa Scholars collection, Michigan State University Libraries Special Collections