25th Anniversary - The American Committee on Africa

by American Committee on Africa
with George M. Houser, Peter Weiss
New York, New York, United States
November 1978
18 pages
Contents: Sponsors • 25th Anniversary Program • The American Committee on Africa-The Early Years by George Houser • ACOA CHRONOLOGY 1953-1978 High Points • The American Committee on Africa-Today • Messages of Solidarity • Speakers and performers include Judge William H. Booth, M.C., President, ACOA; David Amram Musical Group; Greetings from Reverend Donald S. Harrington, Minister, Community Church; Past President of ACOA; Freedom Poetry by Dennis Brutus; Address by Congresswoman Cardis Collins (Illinois) and Member of Congressional Black Caucus; Camille Yarbrough; “Glimpses of 25 Years of Struggle in Africa” with slide show by George Houser, Executive Director, ACOA; South Africa Freedom Singers; David Amram Musical Group; Vinie Burrows; Dick Gregory; 25th Anniversary Declaration by Peter Weiss-ACOA (which is inserted in the program); and Greeting from Africa Liberation Movement Representatives and African Ambassadors to the United Nations. When ACOA was founded, virtually the entire African continent was still in the grips of colonialism. Today, there are 49 independent states where there were only four as recently as the mid-1950s. Namibia, Zimbabwe (Rhodesia) and South Africa remain under the control of white minority regimes. The print program includes messages from Julius K. Nyerere, President of the United Republic of Tanzania, and Kenneth C. Kaunda, President of the Republic of Zambia. The program mentions Salaedo Maredi. Fana Kekana, Themba Ntinga, Seth Sabinda, Sam Hlarshwayo, Thembi Mtshali, Sipo Mzimela, Cecil Hoteps, Ad Hoc American for South African Resistance, AFRICA TODAY, Sylvanius Olympio, Michael Scott, Father Trevor Huddleston, the South Africa Defense Fund, legal defense, a gathering at New York’s Town Hall, Ghana’s independence, Tom Mboya, the Kenya Federation of Labor, Erwin Griswold, Treason trials, Declaration of Conscience Against Apartheid, Eleanor Roosevelt, the All African People’s Conference, Joshua Nkomo, Patrice Lumumba, Kwame Nkrumah, Lincoln University, Sekou Toure, the Sharpeville Massacre, Oliver Tambo, the African National Congress (ANC), the United National Independence Party of Northern Rhodesia, Hastings Banda, Algerian independence, Emergence Relief to Angola, Dr. Ian Gilchrist, James Baldwin, Katanga, Chief Albert Luthuli, Martin Luther King, Jr., an Africa Freedom Day Rally, Eduardo Mondlane, FRELIMO, the Mozambique Liberation Front, the Organization of African Unity (OAU), embargo on trade with South Africa, Ambassador Adlai Stevenson, South African actors, the musical "Sponono," Human Rights Day, the Committee of Conscience Against Apartheid, A. Philip Randolph, Charles Engelhard, The Africa Fund, lawyers protesting prosecution of 37 Namibians, liberated areas, newly independent states, the Terrorism Act, Olympic Games, Jackie Robinson Sharfudine  Khan,  political prisoners, ACOA’s bank campaign, the Special Committee on the Policies of Apartheid, the Council for Namibia, the Committee of 24 on Decolonization, the Commission on Human Rights, Gulf Oil, the International Court of Justice, South African Airways, nuclear research, Polaroid, South African coal, "The Supremes," Jennifer Davis, computer technology, Krugerrand gold coin, the A&S Department store, the South African Freedom Calendar, the Davis Cup, General Motors (GM), Ian Smith, the cold war, and U.S. policies.
This item was digitized for Aluka, which made it available to the African Activist Archive.
See: http://www.aluka.org/
Used by permission of Africa Action (successor to the American Committee on Africa).
Collection: Africa Action Archive