Statement by Jackie Robinson and K.C. Jones on Behalf of American Athletes Protesting South Africa Readmission to the 1968 Olympic Games

Statement Protesting South Africa's Possible Readmission to the Olympics
by American Committee on Africa
with Jackie Robinson, K.C. Jones
New York, New York, United States
February 8, 1968
3 pages
Type: Press Release
Coverage in Africa: South Africa, Africa
Coverage outside Africa: United States
Language: English
The statement says that the International Olympic Committee (IOC) is taking a mail vote of its entire membership on readmission of South Africa to the 1968 Mexico City Olympic Games. Following its suspension in 1964, South Africa adopted a "new sports policy" to try to secure reinstatement. The three-man Olympic Commission sent to South Africa presented its report to the IOC in Grenoble on February 1, but the report has not been made public. The Supreme Council for Sport in Africa has announced that, if South Africa is readmitted, African nations will withdraw from the IOC. American athletes, too, are joining the international protest against possible lifting of the ban on South Africa and are particularly concerned about the U.S. vote in the current balloting. The announced "new policy" in South African sports is a fraud, and South Africa is still in violation of the Olympic Charter. The Statement Protesting South Africa’s Possible Readmission to the Olympics says that, if the IOC accepts South African tokenism, it will appear that international sportsmen condone South Africa's apartheid policy. The preliminary list of signers includes Reuben Amaro (New York Yankees), Arthur Ashe, Jr. (U.S. Davis Cup Team), Dave Bing (Detroit Pistons), Bob Boozer (Chicago Bulls), Jim Bouton (New York Yankees), John Carlos (San Jose State College Track Team), Curt Clayton (Grambling College Track Team), Donn Clendenon (Pittsburgh Pirates), Harry Edwards (former San Jose State College Track Team), Lee Evans (San Jose State College Track Team). Bill Gains (San Jose State College Track Team), Bob Gibson (St. Louis Cardinals), Hal Greer (Philadelphia 76ers), Erv Hall (Villanova University Track Team), Larry James (Villanova University Track Team), K.C. Jones (Coach, Brandeis University, former Boston Celtics), Samuel Jones (Boston Celtics), Martin McGrady (San Jose State College Track Team), Elijah Miller, (Rutgers University Track Team), David Patrick (Villanova University Track Team). Jackie Robinson (former Brooklyn Dodgers), Tommie Smith (San Jose State College Track Team), and Chet Walker (Philadelphia 76ers).
Used by permission Africa Action (successor to the American Committee on Africa).
Collection: George M. Houser (Africa collection), Michigan State University Libraries Special Collections