Student Anti-Apartheid Newsletter

by Joshua Nessen, American Committee on Africa
with Amnesty International, Southern Africa Committee
New York, New York, United States
June 1981
Publisher: American Committee on Africa
10 pages
Type: Newsletter
Coverage in Africa: Angola, Namibia, South Africa
Coverage outside Africa: United States
Language: English
Contents: INTRODUCTION – Anti-Apartheid Movement Mobilizes as Reagan Tightens U.S.-South African Axis • I Community Protests • 1) Botha Visit Draws Angry Rebukes • 2) NYC Black United Front Daily Pickets: Building for  June 16 Action • II Campus Tours by Liberation Movements • III Campus Update • 1) Swarthmore College Divests $2.4 million (in Citicorp, Newmont Mining, and Timken Co) • 2) Franklin & Marshall College (Penn.) • 3) Northwestern University (Illinois) • 4) Western Michigan University • 5) Yale University • 6) University of Kansas • IV Appeals: South Africa Sentences Three to Death • V Recent New Items (Reprinted from Southern Africa Magazine) • -Clark Amendment Vote • -Events in Southern Africa • The newsletter says over the past two months there has continued to be significant anti-apartheid activity both on and off campus, and on June 16 there will be numerous demonstrations to mark the 5th anniversary of the Soweto Rebellion; this activity has occurred at the same time as the Reagan Administration has solidified its growing alliance with South Africa; following the well published meeting of South African Foreign Minister Roelof Botha with Reagan and Haig in mid-May, there was an important meeting held in Buenos Aires, Argentina. The newsletter reprints newspaper and magazine articles including "Botha visit draws angry rebukes" by John Gunn and Kevin Danaher, "South Africa sentences three on charges of high treason" (reprinted the Matchbox, May 1981, Amnesty International), "Clark Amendment Vote", and "At A Glance …". The newsletter discusses General Vernon Walters, the CIA, several South American fascist regimes, the formation of a South Atlantic Treaty Organization (SATO), anti-apartheid groups, U.S. intervention in El Salvador, Reverend Herbert Daughtry, the Clark Amendment, a national conference on Public Investment and South Africa, Dumisani Kumalo, an Anti-Apartheid Strategy Conference, NYU (New York University), the UN Special Committee Against Apartheid, demonstrations, Alexander Haig, Ronald Reagan, NBUF (National Black United Front), Jean Kirkpatrick, the Coalition to Stop U.S.-South African Collaboration, Damu Smith, Rev. Ben Chavis, the Commission for Racial Justice, Rep. William Gray, the African National Congress (ANC), the Pan Africanist Congress of Azania (PAC), the Black Consciousness Movement, CITICORP, Ike Mafole, Nozitho Glenn, Richard Stevens, Dr. Peter Molatsi, Ohio State University, Southern University, the New School of Technology, Queens College, Westbury College, City College (of San Francisco), Mehlo Makulu,, Mohulatsi Makeyone, New York City College, the University of Massachusetts, Antioch College, Pik Botha, the University  of Omaha, Duquesne College, Howard University, the Howard Social Workers Organization, Barbara Massakela, David Ndaba, Fred Dube, Temple University, Lincoln University, Rutgers/Brunswick, the Bronx High School of Science, the State University of New York (SUNY), Columbia University, the University of North Carolina, Jackson State, Hofstra University, Brown University, Punzile Zulu, the University of Wisconsin, Newmont Mining Corporation, Timken Corporation, a clothing drive for South African refugees, Mike Morgan, SAMRAF (South African Military Refugee Aid Fund), the Ad-Hoc Group to End Northwestern Investments in South Africa (AGENISA), George Houser, the South African Solidarity Organization (SASO II), Father Roy Bourgeois, former Iowa Senator Dick Clark, the Kansas University chapter of the American Association of University Professors, Kansas Senator Nancy Kassebaum, Neimbithi Johnson Lubisi, Petrus Tsepo Mashigo, Naphtali Manana, death sentences, President of the United Nations Security Council Jacques Leprette, P.W. Botha, Hon. H.J. Coetsee, Senator Paul Tsongas, UNITA, Andre Holland, the Rhodesian Front, David Thebehali, the Soweto Community Council, SWAPO, the South Africa Federated Chamber of Industries, Reinald Hofmeyer, Barlow Rand, Tembisa, Evaton, Black townships, AZAPO, the Criminal Procedures Act, the International Labor Organization (ILO), Alec Erwin, and FOSATU (Federation of South African Trade Unions).
Used by permission of Africa Action (successor to the American Committee on Africa).
Collection: Africa Action Archive