RE: Scholars Advisory Council Committees

by TransAfrica Forum
Washington, DC, United States
March 5, 1993
18 pages
Type: Memorandum
Coverage outside Africa: United States, Haiti
Language: English
Memorandum about Issue Committees of the TransAfrica Forum Scholars Advisory Council, which will generate policy statements, articles, and op-ed pieces. Other committees may be suggested. Council members are asked to provide CVs so short biographies can be created. The packet includes a list of eight Issue Committees: I. CULTURE, AGENCY AND RECONCEPTUALIZATION OF AFRICA/GLOBAL AFRICAN DEVELOPMENT • II. RECONCEPTUALIZATION AND RESTRUCTURING OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT ASSISTANCE, AND MULTILATERALISM • III. GENDER ANALYSIS AND STATUS OF WOMEN • IV. NATURAL AND HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT, AND QUALITY OF LIFE • V. HUMAN-SOCIAL DISPLACEMENT: REFUGEES, EXILES AND DISPLACED PERSONS • VI. POLITICAL PROCESS AND THE RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN STATE AND CIVIL SOCIETY • VII. SECURITY ISSUES AND NORMS OF INTERVENTION • VIII. UNDERSTANDING U.S. POLICY FORMATION TOWARD AFRICA/GLOBAL AFRICA AS A PROCESS. Committee members include  Dr. Ruth Hamilton, Dr. Achola Pala Okeyo, Dr. A. Lynn Bolles, Dr. Herschelle S. Challenor, Adowa Dunn-Mouton, Dr. Dorith Grant-Wisdom, Dr. Willard R. Johnson, Dr. Pearl T. Robinson, Dr. Cherri Waters, Dr. A. Lynn Bolles, Hope Lewis, Dr. Achola Pala Okeyo, Adrien Wing, Dr. Gwendolyn Mikell, Charles Cobb, Jr., Gay McDougall, David Hall, Honorable A. Leon Higginbotham, Jr., Michael Higginbotham, Hope Lewis, Dr. Elliott Skinner, Dr. James Turner, and Dr. Sylvia Hill. The packet also includes minutes of Closing Session of the Inaugural Meeting of the Scholars Advisory Council, co-chaired by Hamilton and Dr. Charles Ogletree.  The meeting discussed the geographic scope and signature themes of the Council, as well as its structure and organization. Maryse Mill and Michael Sealy at TransAfrica Forum are contact people for the Council.
Used by permission of TransAfrica Forum.
Collection: Private collection of Willard Johnson