The Southern Africa Sun

(Volume 1, Issue 2)
by National Conference of State Legislatures Southern Africa Task Force
Washington, DC, United States
October 1995
Publisher: National Conference of State Legislatures
6 pages
Type: Newsletter
Coverage outside Africa: United States
Language: English
Contents: From Chairman Neal: South Africa's New Constitution Nears Completion • Task Force Hosts South African Speakers • Building Legislative Links in Southern Africa by Representative Irma Hunter Brown, Arkansas • IN MEMORIUM • South African Local Elections Day Approaches Despite Difficulties by Jeremy D. Meadows, NCSL Africa Programs • Workshop Concludes West African Program • African Staff Form Support Organization • NCSL TRAINS STAFF IN ANGLOPHONE AFRICA • News from the Continent • Newsletter of the Southern Africa Task Force of the National Conference of State Legislatures. The newsletter says remarkably and only 1 1/2 years after the fall of apartheid, South Africans of all political persuasions have written the first draft of their new constitution; this is an enormous accomplishment considering their tumultuous history and lingering racial and political divisions; the final draft of the constitution is the combined effort of 490 representatives from seven political parties who make up the Constitutional Assembly. The newsletter says the NCSL Southern Africa Task Force was very proud to host a distinguished and historic delegation from South Africa at the 1995 Annual Meeting in Milwaukee, Wisconsin; the speakers of South Africa's nine provincial assemblies and a national senator from KwaZulu-Natal attended the Annual Meeting as part of a USIA-sponsored study tour. The newsletter says in May 1995, a legislative delegation embarked on a working trip in three southern African countries: South Africa, Namibia, and Zimbabwe; the members of the group were Senator Virgil Smith and Mrs. Elizabeth Smith of Michigan, Representative Art Hamilton of Arizona, Representative Inna Hunter Brown of Arkansas, and Mr. Dumisani Kumalo of New York, Projects Director of the Africa Fund; the three countries were selected because of their similarity of purpose and mission and because each has attained different levels of maturity in their independence - South Africa one year, Namibia five years, and Zimbabwe fifteen years. The newsletter says the first formal part of our trip started in Cape Town, South Africa where Madame Frene Ginwala, Speaker of the Parliament of South Africa was the primary hostess; legislative forums were held with elected officials from the Western Cape Regional Government; Speaker Doman and Deputy Speaker Mampe Ramotsami served as panel leaders and conveners; our final stop in South Africa was Johannesburg where we were hosted by Premier Tokyo Sexwale and Speaker Trevor Fowler, of the Gauteng Province; trom the metropolitan area of Windhoek, we visited the game reserves in Etosha, crossed the Namib Desert, met with Regional Councils in Oshakati, and the coastal area of Swakopmund where we met with local governmental representatives from the area. The newsletter says our third and final country was Zimbabwe, a country with fifteen years of independence; it is a country very rich in natural resources with people committed to providing a better life for all its citizens; the host was Speaker Cyril Ndebele of the Zimbabwe Parliament. The newsletter says on Wednesday, November 1, 1995, South Africans will go to the polls for the third time since the fall of apartheid; this time, they will be electing newly-created municipal councils and rural boards; though these elections follow on the great successes of the national and provincial elections held last year, they are facing many difficulties as logistical and political troubles plague preparations. The newsletter discusses the Reconstruction and Development Program (RDP), Pennsylvania Representative David P. Richardson, Max Sisulu, President Sam Nujoma, Wisconsin Assembly Speaker David Prosser, the Maryland General Assembly, Delegate Nancy Kopp, Delegate Salima Marriott, former Speaker of the U.S. House Thomas S. Foley, the Library of Congress, the Congressional Research Service, the U.S. Information Agency (USIA), Senator Nancy Kassebaum, Congresswoman Maxine Waters, the Local Government Transition Act, President Mandela (Nelson Mandela), the ANC (African National Congress), Deputy President Thabo Mbeki, Former NCSL President Art Hamilton (Arizona), Delegate Ken Montague (Maryland), Representative Donna Sytek (New Hampshire), Henri Konan Bedie, Felix Houphouet-Boigny, Alan Green, Pat Flahaven, and Connie Johnson.
Collection: Private collection of Richard Knight