[The Churches' Emergency Committee on Southern Africa has called on U.S. banks with loans to South Africa not to renew the loans …]

by Churches' Emergency Committee on Southern Africa
New York, New York, United States
February 12, 1986
6 pages
Type: Press Release
Coverage in Africa: Southern Africa
Language: English
The press release says the Churches' Emergency Committee on Southern Africa has called on U.S. banks with loans to South Africa not to renew the loans or approve any new ones "until apartheid is dismantled." On February 10, the Emergency Committee voted to send a telegram to chairmen of 10 U.S. banks expected to make decisions by February 20 about a "rollover" of South African indebtedness totaling $13.6 billion. (The telegram and names of the ten banks and their Chairmen are included.) The Committee also called for national observance of the 10th anniversary of the Soweto June 16 uprising, including holding a large ecumenical worship service in Washington, D.C. The Committee endorsed two projects of the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR): an effort to get church members to send one million post cards protesting three U.S. computer firms in South Africa and a consultation in May on South African divestment and disinvestment. The Rev. Avery Post, president of the United Church of Christ, and the Rev. M. Lorenzo Shepard, president of the Progressive National Baptist Convention, Inc. are co-conveners of the Emergency Committee. The press release mentions Fritz Leutwiler, Willis Logan, the African Methodist Episcopal Church, Bishop Philip Cousins, the National Council of Churches of Christ in the USA, Dr. Frederick Harrison, Missions, the American Baptist Churches in the USA, Rev. Robert C. Campbell, Rev. J. Andy Smith, Social & Ethical Responsibly, the American Lutheran Church (ALC), Rev. David W. Preus, Charles P. Lutz, Church in Society, Antiochian Orthodox Archdiocese, Very Rev. Paul Schneirla, the Association of Evangelical Lutheran Churches,  Rev. Will Herzfeld, the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) in the USA & Canada, Dr. John Humbert, Rev. Daniel C. Hoffman, the Department for Africa, the Christian Methodist Episcopal Church, Dr. Mance Jackson, Social Concerns, Bishop Chester Kirkendoll, Bishop Marshall Gilmore, the Episcopal Church, The Most Rev. Edmond Lee Browning, the Rev. Charles A. Cesaretti, Anglican Relations, the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese, Bishop Anthenagoras, the Lutheran Church in America (LCA), Rev. James R. Crumley, Jr., Ralston Deffenbaugh, Jr., the Office of World Community, the International Council of Community Churches, Rev. Dr. Richard T. Say, the International Church Relations Commission, the Orthodox Church in America, Metropolitan Theodosius, Very Rev. Leonid Kishkovsky, the Presbyterian Church (USA), and Rev. James E. Andrews.
Collection: Miloanne Hecathorn papers