[The Illinois Labor Network Against Apartheid, announcing its formation today, …]

by Illinois Labor Network Against Apartheid
Forest Park, Illinois, United States
February 15, 1988
5 pages
Type: Mailing
Coverage in Africa: South Africa
Coverage outside Africa: United States
Language: English
A cover sheet announcing the formation of the Illinois Labor Network Against Apartheid (ILNAA) and background information and specific plans on three ILNAA priority issues: TRIAL OF MOSES MAYEKISO AND OTHER UNION ACTIVISTS, THE SHELL BOYCOTT, and comprehensive U.S. SANCTIONS AGAINST SOUTH AFRICA. The cover sheet says that ILNAA is mobilizing local unions and the public to demand the freedom of jailed trade unionists and other opponents of South Africa's apartheid system and an end to the trials of union leaders charged with treason and subversion. An international movement to free South African unionists also includes the International Metalworkers' Federation, the AFL-CIO, and many international unions. The information about the trials in South Africa mentions the AFL-CIO central labor bodies in Illinois, an educational and communications network, the state of emergency, a news blackout, the National Union of Metalworkers of South Africa (NUMSA), Mwanele Mayekiso, Paul Tashabalala, Richard Mdakane, Obed Bapela, the Congress of South African Trade Unions (COSATU), the campaign to free Mayekiso, UAW President Owen Bieber, the Sharpeville Six, black townships, and protests over rent. Information about the Shell Boycott mentions the National Union of Mineworker (NUM), NAACP, National Organization for Women (NOW), U.S. labor unions, Chicago's American National Bank, Royal Dutch/Shell, the Netherlands, Great Britain, Shell Oil Company, the United Nations' ban on supplying oil to South Africa, South African oil supplies, and coal. Information about the sanctions campaign mentions union and anti-apartheid groups, Anti-Apartheid Act of 1986, President Reagan’s veto, HR 1580/S 556, the Dellums/Cranston bill, disinvestment, U.S. corporations, trade, U.S. representatives Charles Hayes, Gus Savage, Cardiss Collins, Lane Evans and Kenneth Gray, HR 3317, the Anti-Apartheid Petroleum Sanctions Act, the South African Council of Churches (SACC), Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Washington Office on Africa (WOA), and the New York Labor Committee Against Apartheid.
Used by permission of a former member of the Illinois Labor Network Against Apartheid.
Collection: Kathleen M. Devine papers