Minutes, Executive Board Meeting, June 17, 1976

by American Committee on Africa
New York, New York, United States
Undated, sometime after June 17, 1976 and before the next Executive Board meeting September 23, 1976
3 pages
Type: Meeting Minutes
Coverage outside Africa: United States, Chile, Cuba, Germany, United Nations
Language: English
Contents: Attendance • 2. Brief Reports • George Houser reported that Seagram's may not invest in the KwaZulu Bantustan, which would be a victory. • Jennifer Davis reported how General Electric had lost the billion-dollar South Africa nuclear bid to a French firm 15% owned by Westinghouse. ACOA had been involved in a court challenge to the export of the enriched uranium; the Lawyers Committee on Civil Rights Under Law and board member Goler Teal Butcher handled the case. • George Houser reported that he, Paul Irish and Tilden LeMelle met with Governor William Scranton, the new U.S. representative to the U.N., to discuss southern Africa, particularly Angolan membership in the United Nations. • Houser reported on his testimony before the Democratic Party Platform Committee. • Houser's and Raphael Gould's report on the U.N. Seminar on Apartheid held in Havana, May 24-28 was mailed to the board. • Board members Robert Browne, Edgar (Ted) Lockwood, and Elombe Brath and staff members Jennifer Davis, Paul Irish, and Richard Knight attended the Angola Support Conference held in Chicago, May 30-31. • Irish reported on the second meeting of the Steering Committee of the Coalition for the Liberation of Southern Africa held after the Angola conference. • Davis reported on literature works in progress, including a piece on Namibia with board member Bill Johnston, a pamphlet on the MPLA by Houser and board member Herbert Shore, reprint of board member Elizabeth Landis' piece on South African women, and a Zimbabwe chronology being worked on by Houser. • Janet Hooper invited board members to attend the meeting on June 23 at the Church Center for the UN commemorating the first anniversary of the People's Republic of Mozambique. • 3. Finances • 4. Elections • 5. Soweto • 6. Other Issues • Irish reported on the invitation of Chile groups to ACOA to participate in a banner protesting the Chilean sailing vessel, Esmeralda (with South African sailors) and the South African frigate Kruger, in bicentennial activities in New York harbor on the July 4th weekend. • Johnston reported on the determination of SWAPO inside Namibia to defy South Africa government's constitutional conference, and Houser noted the need to again raise the issue of tax credits for U.S. business in Namibia. • Houser reported that Elton Razamba has established an office representing the Muzorewa wing of the ANC of Zimbabwe to the UN and U.S. • The minutes discuss legal intervention against U.S. Nuclear, Inc.'s continuing export of weapons-grade uranium for research to the Pelindaba plant in South Africa built by Allis-Chalmers, Timothy Smith, Nigerian Ambassador Harriman's speech, Ray Gould, the warm reception by the Cubans, anti-apartheid organizations, Ambassador Miguel Neto, three women from the Ministry of Social Services of Angola, Congressman John Conyers, Chris Root, imports from Namibia, Del Monte sardines, Tim Smith, Walvis Bay, literature sales, Ruth Minter, a joint finance meeting of ACOA and The Africa Fund, resignations (Winifred Courtney, Ida Lewis, Andre Ungar and Donald Wilson), Edward May, Mal Goode, Arthur Ashe, the nomination of Robert Smiley for the executive board, William Booth, Elizabeth Landis, David Robinson, Larry Henderson, Janet Hooper, Leonard Jeffries, Jay Jacobson, Dorothy Hibbert, William Johnston, Adelaide Schulkind, Frederick A.O. Schwarz, Jr., Timothy Smith, Peter Weiss, the arrest of Jane Paghani, the South African Council of Churches (SACC), the Christian Institute, demonstrations called for Saturday, the African National Congress (ANC), the Pan African Students Organization in the Americas, the South African Mission to the U.N., Secretary Henry Kissinger), South African Prime Minister Vorster, Bill Booth,  Marshall Brown, Elsie Carrington, Michael Davis, David Lampel, Oseye Mchawi, Gail Morlan, and Marvin Rich.
Used by permission of Africa Action (successor to the American Committee on Africa).
Collection: Peter Weiss (Africa collection), Michigan State University Libraries Special Collections