by American Committee on Africa
New York, New York
Undated, sometime after June 6, 1979 and before the next Executive Board meeting 
2 pages
Contents: Present • Staff • 1. The meeting was convened shortly after 6:00 PM at the office • 2. The financial report was quickly reviewed and accepted • 3. It was reported that four interns • 4. A number of staff changes were reported • 5. Research and literature were reported on • 6. Medical shipments in progress were reported on • 7. Bank Campaign • 8. Nominating Committee • 9. Other items reported on included correspondence from the Soviet author Oleg Ignyatev noting that he would take George Houser's response into consideration in future publications of his book, Secret Weapons in Africa • 10. The Board voted to send a telegram to the White House opposing the lifting of Rhodesian sanctions • 11. George Houser and Richard Knight reported on their trips with POLISARIO to Western Sahara • 12. The subcommittee working on a public statement on the "Sullivan Principles" has met and reviewed an initial draft • 13. Discussion concluded with a review of the status of negotiations concerning a settlement for Namibia • The minutes say uearings which ACOA proposed to the UN Special Committee on Apartheid, with Canadian, European representatives and George Houser speaking for ACOA were held June 6; following the hearings, letters to the Secretary General have gone asking for investigation of UN holdings and pension funds. The minutes discuss Terri Ann Lowenthal from Cornell, Karen Lopilato from UC Berkeley, Dominique Colon from Princeton, Michael Shafer from Harvard, Truman Dunn, work-study, the regular research staff, Lynn Goodwin, a new part-time bookkeeper,  Robin Miller, a new listing of colleges divesting stocks in South Africa related companies, a study of Fluor Corporation, divestment, $45,000 in medicines from a major pharmaceutical company going equally to Namibian refugees in Angola and Saharan refugees in Algeria, a shipment for Zimbabwe refugees in Mozambique from North Carolina, the UN High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), Dumisani Kumalo, international human rights internship program, Clergy and Laity Concerned, Josephine Buck Jones, Hostos Community College, Stephanie Urdang, The Rev. S. Gary Oniki, the Office for Church in Society, the United Church of Christ, Richard Lapchick, the American Coordinating Committee for Equality in Sport and Society, the resignation of F.A.O. Schwarz Jr., Tilden LeMelle, Robert Potter, The Rt. Rev. Paul Moore, Dick Gregory, M. William Howard, the National Council of Churches, Paul O'Dwyer, Stanley Sheinbaum, the Africa Fund advisory committee, Allard Lowenstein, William Booth, Adelaide Schulkind, William Johnston, Gail Morlan, Michael Davis, Dorothy Hibbert, Robert Browne, Leonard Jeffries, Timothy Smith, Paul Irish, Jennifer Davis, and COBLSA (Campaign to Oppose Bank Loans to South Africa). [Note: Oleg Ignyatev  is Oleg Ignatyev.]
Used by permission of Africa Action (successor to the American Committee on Africa).
Collection: Peter Weiss (Africa collection), Michigan State University Libraries Special Collections