by American Committee on Africa
New York, New York
Undated, sometime after September 11, 1961 and before the next Executive Board meeting
3 pages
Type: Meeting Minutes
Coverage outside Africa: United States, Canada, United Nations
Language: English
Contents: Present • Staff • 1. The minutes of the last meeting of the Executive Board (June 12, 1961) were approved and adopted • 2. Letter from the Harrisons • 4. Executive Director's report • 5. Organization Committee’s report on allied items • a) Amendment to the by-laws • b) Resignations • c) Report on those Board member to have missed three consecutive meetings • d) Election of new Board members • e) Election of officers • f) Appointment of Committee Chairman • g) Resolution on who signs checks • 6. Discussion of financial situation • 7. Proposal on Angola • 8. Proposal on sanctions against South Africa • 9. Tanganyika independence • 10. Questionnaire on discrimination against African U.N. delegates • 12. ACOA relationship with southern Negro students • 11. Next meeting of the Executive Board • The meeting minutes discuss Collins Gonze, Donald Harrison, Dale and Barbara Harrison, George Houser, Betsy and Bill Landis, the American Association for the United Nations, the 16th General Assembly, the African Cultural Group of the U.S. and Canada, NBC, a film taken in northern Angola by Robert Young, Angolan leaders in the Congo, the Portuguese authorities, Adrian De Wind, Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton and Garrison, Peter Weiss, Betsey Landis, Paris, Ed Gray, Harold Isaacs, Dr. Jean Noble, A. Philip Randolph, Daniel J. Bernstein, Percy Sutton, Hope Stevens, Frank Montero, Winifred Courtney, Joseph Jablow, Nelson Bengston, John Murra, Stan Levison, a difficult time to raise money, the Committee's largest contributors, a Commission on Angola, a campaign to affect investors, boycott efforts, the possibility of having a South African work directly with the Committee, the Steering Committee, an exchange of student leaders between Africa and the South, arranging speaking tours for young African student leaders to tour southern Negro colleges, establishing institutes on Africa in southern Negro colleges, James Farmer, Sophia Yarnell Jacobs, David Jones, Farrell Jones, Bayard Rustin, Adelaide Schulkind, Hugh Smythe, Catherine Raymond, Suzanne Seidman, Victor Reuther, and Lewis Carliner.
Used by permission of Africa Action (successor to the American Committee on Africa). 
Collection: Peter Weiss (Africa collection), Michigan State University Libraries Special Collections