by Gay J. McDougall, Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law
Washington, DC, United States
September 30, 1993
Publisher: Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law
31 pages
Type: Testimony
Coverage in Africa: South Africa
Coverage outside Africa: United States
Language: English
Contents: SOUTH AFRICA: THE TRANSITION • KEY ISSUES • Power-Sharing • Regional Powers • The Nature of the Constitution-making Process • TIMETABLE • TRANSITIONAL STRUCTURES • 1. Regional and Local Government and Traditional Authorities • 2. Law and Order, Stability and Security • 3. Defence • 4. Finance • 5. Foreign Affairs • 6. Status of Women • 7. Intelligence • Independent Electoral Commission • The Independent Media Commission • THE MARGINALIZED PARTIES • Inkatha and the Bantustan Parties • The Pan Africanist Congress • The Conservative Party • Other Right-Wing Activity • POLITICAL VIOLENCE AND THE TRANSITION • U.S. POLICY TOWARDS SOUTH AFRICA • CONCLUSION • Gay McDougall testified that, on September 7, negotiating parties finalized terms for establishing the Transitional Executive Council (TEC or Council) that will oversee the transition to a new democratic era in South Africa. It has been over three years since the release of Nelson Mandela from prison, yet blacks still cannot vote. McDougall says the democratic transition in South Africa officially began in December 1991 when 19 political parties launched the Convention for a Democratic South Africa (CODESA), a multi-party negotiating forum.  The testimony discusses the African National Congress (ANC), the National Party (NP), political violence, F.W. de Klerk, a traditional constitutional order, majority-rule, the interest of the white minority, Joe Slovo, white extremists, the post-apartheid constitution, the Constituent Assembly, the lnkatha Freedom Party (IFP), the Pan Africanist Congress (PAC), the Matla Trust, assassination of Chris Hani, the Concerned South Africans Group (COSAG), Secretary General Cyril Ramaphosa, Gatsha Buthelezi, the KwaZulu homeland, the Communist Party (SACP), the interim National Assembly, the Government of National Unity and Reconstruction (GNUR), the Afrikaner Volksunie party, a Special Electoral Court, the Subcouncil on Defence, a National Peacekeeping Force (NPF), the Electoral Code of Conduct, the Independent Broadcasting Authority (IBA), the Azanian People's Liberation Army (APLA), a Committee of Generals, the Afrikaner Volksfront (AVF), General Constand Viljoen, the SADF (South African Defence Force), Daveyton Township, Peace Action, the international violence monitors, the United Nations, the Commonwealth, the Organization of African Unity (OAU), the South African Police (SAP), Umkhonto we Sizwe, military and paramilitary groupings, training elections observers, voter education, technical assistance, the Agency for International Development, the Code of Conduct for U.S. corporations, the Comprehensive Anti-Apartheid Act of 1986, the declining economic situation, intolerant political attitudes, an increasingly marginalized "lost" generation, and the vast divide between the "elite" negotiators and their constituent base.
Used by permission of Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law.
Collection: Elizabeth S. Landis collection, National Archives of Namibia