ECSA Bulletin

by Episcopal Churchpeople for a Free Southern Africa
New York, New York, United States
March 6, 1995
10 pages
Contents: Extracts of ADDRESS OF PRESIDENT NELSON MANDELA ON THE OCCASION OF THE OPENING OF THE SECOND SESSION OF THE DEMOCRATIC PARLIAMENT • THE NEW SOUTH AFRICA • The newsletter reprints newspaper articles including: "Gadaffi lures South Africa’s top germ warfare scientists" by James Adams, "'Blatant racism' in N Tvl Prisons" by Mathatha  Tsedu, "South African 'superspy' now fears for life" by Phillip van Niekerk, [Title not included] by Bill Keller, "New S. African court to decide fate of death penalty" by Patrick McDowell, "Try the beloved country" by David Hughes, "Southern Africans squandering money, donor nations warn," "Ancient tribe's river of life dammed to hell" by Phillip van Niekerk, "Old nuclear scandal may hurt France's relations as Pik Botha come clean on sales," and "Journalist shot dead." The newsletter reprints an article (without title) in which Phillip Van Niekerk talks to former South Africa ‘superspy’ Craig Williamson about the apartheid regime’s secret mission to send an explosive ‘message’ to the British government and the ANC. The newsletter discusses local government elections, democratic structures, the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC), Joe Slovo, the South African Police (SAP), biological weapons, Leon Panetta, Tony Lake, Elisa Harris, the National Security Council, the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), F.W. de Klerk, Frank Chikane, the South African Council of Churches (SACC), Thami Zulu, the ANC (African National Congress), Princeton Lyman, President Bill Clinton, the Arms Control and Disarmament Agency, Don Moseley, Northern Transvaal, Dean Tshenuwani Farisani, Correctional Services spokesman Lieutenant Rudi Potgieter, bombings, Ruth First, Jeanette Schoon, Home Secretary Michael Howard, Scotland Yard, Marius Schoon, the National Party, Minister for Constitutional Development Roelf Meyer,  Justice Minister Dullah Omar, General Johan van der Merwe, the State Security Council, the London bombings, Jerry Raven, Colonel Piet Goosen, Steve Biko, Eugene de Kock, Minister of Police Louis le Grange, the International University Exchange Fund, Peter Hain, Jimmy Taylor, John Adam, Vic McPherson, Peter Casselton, Dirk Coetzee, Police Commissioner Johan Coetzee, Marius Schoӧn, Gillian Slovo, Bheki Mlangeni,  Eugene Alexander de Kock, Vlakplaas, the Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP), automatic rifles, rocket-launchers, grenades, Flip Hatting, Dries van Heerden, Adriaan Vlok, Themba Makwayane, Movusu Mchunu, death sentences, the Constitutional Court, the Legal Resources Centre, lawyers, the new Bill of Rights, Ron Pascke, Justice Catherine O’Regan, Arthur Chaskalson, Albie Sachs, Yvonne Mokgoro, John Didcott, Johann Kriegler, Richard Goldstone, Ismael Mohamed, Pius Langa, Laurie Ackermann, Tholakele Madala, the Government of National Unity, the Reconstruction and Development Programme (RDP), exchange control, isolation from the world economy, exports, imports, the debt standstill, the Reserve Bank, foreign loans, Anglo-American, investment in South Africa, the Southern African Development Community (SADC), Lynda Chalker, Asbjorn Mathieson, drought conditions, agricultural production, nuclear fuels company Framatome, the nuclear power station at Koeberg, nuclear weapons, Eskom, Mirage jets, Alsthom, Spie Batignolles, Thompson-CSF, John Vorster, the U.S. Atomic Energy Commission, Francois Mitterrand, King Moshoeshoe II, King Letsie III, the European Union, Ricardo de Melo, Epupa Falls, the Cunene River, President Sam Nujoma, a hydroelectric dam, the Himba, Hikuminue Kapika, Polla Brand, the Namibian electricity utility Swawek, Prime Minister Hage Geingob, environmentalists,  Micheala Hubschle, and SWAPO. 
Used by permission of former board members of the Episcopal Churchpeople for a Free Southern Africa.
Collection: Elizabeth S. Landis collection, National Archives of Namibia