[Dear President Bok, Since 1976, the South African government has murdered thousands of South Africans who were fighting for their rights]

by Cindy Ruskin, Neva Seidman, Southern Africa Solidarity Committee
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
October 20, 1977
Publisher: Southern Africa Solidarity Committee
2 pages
Type: Correspondence
Coverage in Africa: South Africa
Coverage outside Africa: United States
Language: English
Copy of a letter to Harvard University President Derek Bok demanding that Harvard take and publicize a position against U.S. investment in apartheid and enforce that stand. Since 1976, the South African government has murdered thousands of people who are fighting for their rights, detained at least 800 people without trial, and tortured and killed many detainees. A number of individuals and prominent organizations have recently been banned, including two major student organizations - the South African Students Organization (SASO) and the South African Students Movement (SASM) - as well as the Soweto World and the Christian Institute. All major black organizations in South Africa, including those banned this week, have called for U.S. companies to withdraw from South Africa. Harvard has consistently refused to sell the millions of dollars of stock it holds in companies invested in South Africa or vote in favor of stockholder resolutions calling on the companies to withdraw. The letter is written on behalf of members of the South African Solidarity Committee, including Steve Wasserman, Joseph Dalton, Dan Rabinovitz, Carl Rosen, Skip Knight, Eric Ascherman, Jon Alter, Jonathan Rattner, Cliff Sloan, David August, Dawn Hudson, John Metzel, Sarah Royce, Tim Massad, Henry McGee, Tim Wilson,  Luther Ragin, Aron Estes, Fred Houn, Ilana DeBare, Eleanor J. Barnes, Peter Sacks, Leslie McNeil, Emmy Goldknopf, David Beach, Carlton Johnson, Mike Martin, Gustavo Bunting, Laurie Hayes, Libby Graham, Laura Ramirez, Laura Hedal, Alexandra Korry, and David Tachen. The letter mentions the Black People’s Convention (BPC), Steve Biko, O.R. Tambo (Oliver Tambo), and the ANC (African National Congress).
Used by permission of former members of the Harvard-Radcliffe Southern Africa Solidarity Committee.
Collection: Harvard-Radcliffe Southern Africa Solidarity Committee (Cindy Ruskin collection), Michigan State University Libraries Special Collections