ACAS Bulletin

Nigeria in Crisis
(No. 52)
by Association of Concerned Africa Scholars
with Daniel Volman, Meredeth Turshen, George Caffentzis, Axel Harneit-Sievers, United Democratic Front of Nigeria, Ifi Amadiume, Bill Martin, Merle Bowen
Corvallis, Oregon, United States
Fall 1998
30 pages
Type: Newsletter
Coverage in Africa: Africa, Nigeria
Coverage outside Africa: United States
Language: English
Contents: Introduction • Academics Against Abacha: Notes on the Struggles of Nigerian University Students and Teachers, 1993-1998 • Beyond Biafra: The Civil War in Nigeria's Political Debates • UDFN Leadership Meets General Abubakar in New York • Report• of an International Conference on the Nigerian Crisis • Message from the Bill Martin and Merle Bowen, ACAS Co-Chairs • ACAS• Meetings and Panels at the 1998 African Studies Association Conference • ACAS Membership Form • The newsletter discusses General Sani Abacha, civil and political rights, civilian rule, military interventions in politics, Ogoniland, Dartmouth College, Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU), the National Association of Nigerian Students (NANS), General Babangida, the IMF (International Monetary Fund), Shell, the Ogoni struggle in the Delta, the World Bank, Major Paul Okutiimo's troops, the oil-worker's strike, Chief Moshood Abiola, students in Benin and Edo States, Edo State University, Bayero University in Kano, the execution of Ken Saro-Wiwa and eight other Ogoni activists, violence, the University of Port Harcourt, Obafemi Awolowo University, Anthony Fashayo, the Committee for Academic Freedom in Africa, Ousseina Alidou, Silvia Federici, Hofstra University, Center for Modern Oriental Studies, the Nigerian Civil War (1967-70), General Yakubu Gowon, Lt. -General Odumegwu Ojukwu, churches, the International Red Cross, Tanzania, Ivory Coast, Gabon, France, Portugal, the Nigerian Army, oil revenue, the Igbo educated elite, the Federal Government, Biafran activists, President Shehu Shagari, the National War Museum in Umuahia, Chinua Achebe, Cyprian Ekwensi, Buchi Emecheta, Flora Nwapa, Igbo politics, Sam Mbakwe, Christian C. Onoh, the National Party of Nigeria, the Yoruba, Ernest Shonekan, Igboland, General Abdulsalam Abubakar, the Center for Modem Oriental Studies, United Democratic Front of Nigeria (UDFN), Professor Wole Soyinka, Julius Ihonvbere, Olusola Adeyeye, Ibrahim Gambari, Olusola Adeyeye, Bashorun M.K.O. Abiola, the Sovereign National Conference, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), the Campaign for Democracy, Beko Ransome Kuti, Civil Liberties Organisation (CLO), Ayo Obe, Eastern Mandate Union (EMU), Arthur Nwankwo, Movement for Social and Economic Justice (MOSEJ), Dr. Frederick Faseun, the Movement for the Survival of the Ogoni Peoples (MOSOP), Ledum Mitee, National Democratic Coalition (NADECO), Chief Anthony Enahoro, Southern Minorities Organisation (SMO), Eno Usua, United Action for Democracy (UAD), Olisa Agbakoba, Ugandan Human Rights Commission, the Kenyan Human Rights Commission, Human Rights Watch Africa, the Inter-American Institute of Human Rights in Costa Rica, the Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa (CODESRIA, based in Senegal), Obiora Udechukwu, Abdullahi An-Na'im, Judith Byfield, Marianne Hirsch, Irene Kacandes, Nelson Kasfir, President Clinton, sanctions, the bombing of U.S. embassies, the U.S. bombing of Sudan, Adotei Akwei, Amnesty International, Salih Booker, the Council on Foreign Relations, Jim Cason, Jennifer Davis, The Africa Fund, Joye Bowman, Imani Countess, Gerald Horne, William G. Martin, and Michael O. West.
Used by permission of several co-chairs of the Association of Concerned Africa Scholars.
Collection: Private collection of David Wiley and Christine Root